2016 NAIA Women?s Cross Country National Championships Field Revealed

2016 NAIA Women?s Cross Country National Championships Field Revealed

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 2016 NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Championships field has been announced, as 36 teams and 88 individuals travel to North Farms Cross Country Course in Elsah, Ill., the national office announced Monday. The 37th annual event takes place on Nov. 19, with the women’s race scheduled for 10:30 a.m. CST. 

• This is the first time in NAIA Women’s Cross Country Championships history that the race will be held in Elsah, Ill. 
• The Championship field is made up of 25 automatic qualifiers, 10 at-large berths and one host berth.
• The 10 at-large bids are determined by the final regular-season Top 25 Poll that can be seen by clicking here. 
• Ten teams received an at-large bid – The Master’s (Calif.), College of Idaho, Oregon Tech, Southern Oregon, Westmont (Calif.), Lewis-Clark State (Idaho), Wayland Baptist (Texas), Dordt (Iowa), Indiana Wesleyan and Hastings (Neb.).
• For more information about the conference championships, click here
• For all other information regarding the Women’s Cross Country National Championships, click here
• For the first second-straight year, a post-race highlight show will be free to all fans through the NAIA Network. Fans will be able to view the show no later than 1 p.m. CST on Sunday, Nov. 20.

2016 NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Championships Qualifiers – Teams

Aquinas (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Champion
Benedictine (Kan.) Hearth of America Athletic Conference Runner-Up
Blue Mountain Southern States Athletic Conference Champion
Biola (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Champion
British Columbia Association of Independent Institutions Champion
Carroll (Mont.) Frontier Conference Champion
College of Idaho At-Large No. 2
Dickinson State (N.D.) North Star Athletic Association Champion
Dordt (Iowa) At-Large No. 8
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Conference Champion
Friends (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
Hastings (Neb.) At-Large No. 10
Indiana Wesleyan At-Large No. 9
Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) At-Large No. 6
MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Champion
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Runner-Up
Missouri Baptist American Midwest Conference Champion
Morningside (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Champion
Northwest Christian (Ore.) Cascade Collegiate Conference Champion
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Champion
Oregon Tech At-Large No. 3
Our Lady of the Lake (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference Champion
Park (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Host Berth
Rio Grande (Ohio) River States Conference Champion
SCAD Atlanta (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Champion
SCAD Savannah (Ga.) The Sun Conference Champion
Shawnee State (Ohio) Mid-South Conference Champion
Southern Oregon At-Large No. 4
Saint Francis (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion
Saint Mary (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner-Up
Xavier Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Champion
Taylor (Ind.) Crossroads League Champion
The Master’s (Calif.) At-Large No. 1
Wayland Baptist (Texas) At-Large No. 7
Westmont (Calif.) At-Large No. 5
St. Xavier (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner-Up

2016 NAIA Women’s Cross Country National Championships Qualifiers – Individuals

American Midwest Naomi Payne Columbia (Mo.)
  Emily Erdman Lindenwood-Bellevue (Ill.)
  Janki Patel St. Louis Pharmacy (Mo.)
  Malindi Congour Stephens (Mo.)
A.I.I. Samantha Barela Johnson & Wales (Colo.)
  Jessie Faron Johnson & Wales (Colo.)
  Alex Del Bosque Central Christian (Kan.)
  Oliva Redman Johnson & Wales (Colo.)
Appalachian Ivie Nobles Truett-McConnell (Ga.)
  Leah Chance Tennessee Wesleyan
  Shelby Rensel Reinhardt (Ga.)
  Rebecca Guadiana Point (Ga.)
  Hannah Rhodes Tennessee Wesleyan
  Mysteree Bottoroff Tennessee Wesleyan
California Pacific Lindsey Shoenhard Soka (Calif.)
  Miranda Almeida Soka (Calif.)
  Erika Ochoa UC Merced (Calif.)
  Linden Amundsen Soka (Calif.)
Cascade Rachel Roelle Eastern Oregon
  Sarah Estabrook Northwest (Wash.)
  Amy Murphy Corban (Ore.)
Chicagoland Elizabeth Soper Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
  Ashely Jourdan Trinity Christian (Ill.)
  Alexa Beezhold Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
  Stephanie Clarkson Governors State (Ill.)
  Sarah Ray Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
  Karyn Paisley St. Ambrose (Iowa)
Crossroads Aspen Dirr Huntington (Ind.)
  Annie Winkler Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio)
  Victoria Harper Spring Arbor (Mich.)
  Raven Arellano Grace (Ind.)
Frontier Baylee Green Great Falls (Mont.)
  Mindy Kaufman Montana Western
  Mackenzie O'Dore Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
  Courtney Hallock Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Golden State Kaylee Franks Arizona Christian
Great Plains Marissa DeWispelare Doane (Neb.)
  Katie Bosch Northwestern (Iowa)
  Kylee Smallfoot Midland (Neb.)
  Emily Sievert Concordia (Neb.)
Gulf Coast Hydeia Barney Dillard (La.)
  Larissa Pereira Edward Waters (Fla.)
  Marina Maguire Edward Waters (Fla.)
  Sasha Newman Dillard (La.)
Heart of America Molly Pruett Mount Mercy (Iowa)
  Katie Hoffert Mount Mercy (Iowa)
  Maren Jeppson Grand View (Iowa)
  Penny Fenn Avila (Mo.)
  Kami Tabor Graceland (Iowa)
  Andrea Ertz Mount Mercy (Iowa)
Kansas Collegiate Jordan Calderwood Ottawa (Kan.)
  Justine Vogele Southwestern (Kan.)
  Rachel Franklin Kansas Wesleyan
  Lauren Wankum McPherson (Kan.)
  Chisholm Branscum Ottawa (Kan.)
  Ashley Smith Southwestern (Kan.)
Mid-South Madison Peace Cumberlands (Ky.)
  Nikki Coffey Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
  Meg McGaha Cumberlands (Ky.)
  Maureen McGaha Cumberlands (Ky.)
North Star Amber Posner Jamestown (N.D.)
  Allison Foster Jamestown (N.D.)
  Christa Lysne Jamestown (N.D.)
  Rachel Turi Viterbo (Wis.)
Red River Gabrielle Arsiaga Southwest (N.M.)
  Alexandria Adams Southwest (N.M.)
  Maureen Rono Wiley (Texas)
  Shamona Hunt Wiley (Teas)
River States Katy Falkenberg Asbury (Ky.)
  Katie Guarnaccia Point Park (Pa.)
  Anna Shields Point Park (Pa.)
  Brittany Sloan IU Kokomo (Ind.)
Sooner Destiny Garza SAGU (Texas)
  Melissa Gonzales Texas Wesleyan
  Sabrina Desantiago St. Gregory's (Okla.)
  Maria Galarza Texas Wesleyan
Southern States Emily Poole Dalton State (Ga.)
  Jaden Russell William Carey (Miss.)
  Ana Karen Padilla Dalton State (Ga.)
  Natalie Hensely Dalton State (Ga.)
The Sun Betsy Douglas USC Beaufort (S.C.)
  Julia Kaster Southeastern (Fla.)
  Sydni Ogilvie Southeastern (Fla.)
  Megan Fitzgerald Southeastern (Fla.)
Wolverine-Hoosier Tiffany Rauch Indiana Tech
  Ashley Russo Siena Heights
  Stephanie Johnston Concordia (Mich.)
  Karlie Gallagher Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington