NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5 (Oct. 4)

NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5 (Oct. 4)

By Katie Green, Manager of Athletics Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Aminat Olowora of Oklahoma City has been named the NAIA National Women’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Olowora was selected for her performance from Sept. 25 – Oct. 1 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Women’s Cross Country Runner of the Week

Aminat Olowora, Oklahoma City
SR, Lagos, Nigeria

  • Ran a 5K with a time of 16:23
  • Finished first out of 381 runners at the Chile Pepper Festival
  • Finished 24.9 seconds ahead of NCAA Division I victor
  • Seventh victory in seven career races for OCU

Nominees: Pia Von Keutz, Columbia (Mo.); Harley Nale, William Woods (Mo.); Rebecca Starrett, Missouri Baptist; Shelby Kallem, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Emily Kearney, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.); Sophie Davis, Reinhardt (Ga.); Lydia Wilson, Montreat (N.C.); Alyssa Waibel, Columbia (S.C.); Rebecca Guadiana, Point (Ga.); Danielle De Castro, Oregon Tech; Jessa Perkinson, Southern Oregon; Sarah Estabrook, Northwest (Wash.); Amy Jo Murphy, Corban (Ore.); Rachel Roelle, Eastern Oregon; Megan DeWeerd, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Taylor Conroy, St. Francis (Ill.); Sarah Harden, Taylor (Ind.); Chelsea Foster, Goshen (Ind.); Ariel Jensen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Mei-Li Stevens, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Mindy Kaufman, Montana Western; Janie Reid, Carroll (Mont.); Kaitlyn Leist, Providence (Mont.); Mikala Fairchild, The Master's (Calif.); Rosie Hollis, Baker (Kan.); Madelyn Brunt, British Columbia; Julie Loewen, Tabor (Kan.); Lorena Moreno, Saint Mary (Kan.); Christa Follette , Friends (Kan.); Evelyn Moore, Cumberlands (Ky.); Brooke Smith, Shawnee State (Ohio); Amber Mays, Cumberland (Tenn.); Alexandra Adams, Southwest (N.M.); Ariel Young, Ohio Christian; Taryn Thor, IU Kokomo; Ashley Toschlog, Indiana East; Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.); Morgan Knox, Midway (Ky.); Amanda Espy, Carlow (Pa.); Madeline Jones, Brescia (Ky.); Katie Ervin, WVU Tech; Melissa Gonzalez, Texas Wesleyan; Jackline Jemeli, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Elle Hamilton, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Tiffany Mountin, Middle Georgia State; Noor Sabeeh, Dalton State (Ga.); Jaden Russell, William Carey (Miss.); Sasha Solano-McDaniel, Loyola (La.); Julia Kaster, Southeastern (Fla.); Sarah Bomkamp, St. Thomas (Fla.); Ciara McMahon, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Brigid Lennon, Ave Maria (Fla.); Kendal Clarke, Webber International (Fla.); Melissa Winchester, Aquinas (Mich.)

2017-18 Women's Cross Country Composite Award Winners

Week 1 (September 06): Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)
Week 2 (September 13): Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)
Week 3 (September 20): Ellie Willging, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 4 (September 27): Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)
Week 5 (October 04): Aminat Olowora, Oklahoma City

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington