2012-13 NAIA Scholar-Teams Announced

2012-13 NAIA Scholar-Teams Announced
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced that 897 programs have been named 2012-13 NAIA Scholar-Teams. Lee’s (Tenn.) women’s golf squad, who finished the academic year with a NAIA-best combined 3.93 grade-point average, was selected as the Scholar-Team of the Year.

Rounding out the top five award winners are: Valley City State (N.D.) women’s golf (3.90), Tabor (Kan.) women’s cross country (3.81) and women’s tennis (3.81), and Doane (Neb.) women’s cross country (3.77).

Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) led all schools with 19 programs honored, while Hastings (Neb.), St. Ambrose (Iowa) and Taylor (Ind.) were second with 18 teams each. For the second year in a row, more than 15 percent of the schools receiving the award had a 3.5 or higher grade-point average.

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade-point average (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team grade-point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

For more information on NAIA awards, including the Scholar-Team honor, click here.

2012-13 NAIA Scholar-Teams (PDFs)
Sorted by Institution | Sorted by Sport | Sorted by GPA