2014-15 NAIA Scholar-Teams Announced

2014-15 NAIA Scholar-Teams Announced

By Derek Helling, NAIA Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced that 1,502 teams have been given the distinction of Scholar-Teams for the 2014-15 academic year. Missouri Baptist’s women’s tennis team, who finished the term with a NAIA-best combined 3.94 grade point average, was selected as the Scholar-Team of the Year.

Siena Heights (Mich.) women’s golf team nearly tied the women’s tennis team from Missouri Baptist, finishing with a 3.93 GPA. In third place was the women’s cross country team from Westminster (Utah) at 3.84. Completing the top four was the men’s golf team from Biola (Calif.) at 3.82.

Biola (Calif.) also had the distinction of having 18 of its teams honored on the list, a feat unsurpassed in this academic year but matched by three other schools: Campbellsville (Ky.), Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) and Taylor (Ind.).

Concordia (Neb.), Embry-Riddle (Fla.) and Spring Arbor (Mich.) all followed closely with 17 such appearances. Aquinas (Mich.), Ashford (Iowa), Davenport (Mich.), Hastings (Neb.), Indiana Wesleyan and St. Francis (Ill.) tied for the third-most appearances with 16.

Carroll (Mont.), Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.), Lindsey Wilson (Ky.), Marian (Ind.), Morningside (Iowa), Mount Marty (S.D.), Oregon Tech, St. Francis (Ind.) and Tabor (Kan.) claimed fourth place in most teams awarded the honor with 15 each.

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team grade point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

For more information on NAIA awards, including the Scholar-Team honor, click here.

2014-15 NAIA Scholar Teams (PDFs)
Sorted by Institution | Sorted by Sport | Sorted by GPA