2015-16 NAIA Scholar-Teams Announced

2015-16 NAIA Scholar-Teams Announced

By Nikki Sherrill, NAIA Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 1,590 teams that have earned the distinction of Scholar-Teams for the 2015-16 academic year. Missouri Baptist’s women’s golf team, who finished the year with an NAIA-best combined 3.95 grade point average, was selected as the Scholar-Team of the Year.

The top four spots were given to women’s golf teams from across the country, with Indiana Tech following Missouri Baptist with a 3.89 GPA, Governors State (Ill.) coming in third with 3.86, and Siena Heights (Mich.) placing fourth with a 3.84 GPA.

Concordia (Neb.) and Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) grabbed the distinction of having 20 teams make the list, the most out of all schools. Morningside (Iowa) and St. Ambrose (Iowa) were next with 19 coming, and two schools – including Taylor (Ind.), Biola (Calif.)  – tied for fifth with 18 teams.

For four, 17 was the number as Aquinas (Mich), Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.), Doane (Neb) and Indiana Wesleyan all came in tied for sixth on the list. Rounding out the top five are ten schools with 16 teams making the list. Those schools are Baker (Kan.), College of Idaho, Davenport (Mich.), Dordt (Iowa), Grace (Ind.), Indiana Tech, Midland (Neb.), Reinhardt (Ga.), St. Francis (Ill.) and Tabor (Kan.).

For a team to be considered for the NAIA Scholar-Team award, it must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average (on a 4.0 scale) as defined by the institution. The team grade point average includes all eligible varsity student-athletes.

For more information on NAIA awards, including the Scholar-Team honor, click here.

2015-16 NAIA Scholar Teams (PDFs)
Sorted by Institution |Sorted by Sport | Sorted by GPA