Baseball Pitcher & Player of the Week ? No. 1

Baseball Pitcher & Player of the Week ? No. 1
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Kris Hall of Lee (Tenn.) has been named the NAIA National Baseball Pitcher of the Week and Ignatius Mackenzie of Indiana Tech has been tabbed National Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Hall and Mackenzie were selected based on their performances from March 4 – 11 and were chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Hall, a junior from Strongsville, Ohio, racked up 15 strikeouts, while only walking two in the Flames 9-0 victory against Loyola (La.) on March 9. He surrendered just two hits in eight innings of work to improve to 6-0 on the season, which ranks second in the NAIA. Additionally, Hall is second nationally in strikeouts (63), third in strikeouts per nine innings (14.2) and 11th in earned run average (0.68).

Mackenzie hit .762 (16-for-21) with four doubles, two home runs, 13 RBIs and two runs scored in six games last week. The junior catcher went 5-for-5 with two home runs and nine RBIs in the Warriors 25-12 victory against Goshen (Ind.) on March 6 and followed with a three double effort against St. Francis (Ill.) on March 9. Against No. 5 Embry-Riddle (Fla.), Mackenzie finished the series hitting .556 (5-for-9) with one RBI. On the season, he leads the team and ranks 13th nationally with a .512 (22-for-43) batting average.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

The next NAIA Baseball Pitcher and Player of the Week announcement will be on March 20.

Pitcher Nominees: Jared Mortensen, LSU Shreveport (La.); Chad Hardison, Oklahoma Baptist; Andy Southard, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.); Jacob Cook, Campbellsville (Ky.); Taylor Nicholson, College of Idaho; Will Scott, Peru State (Neb.); Michael Finnigan, Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Kevin Maloney, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Nathan Roth, Doane (Neb.); Michael Calderon, Bellevue (Neb.); Tyler Snoke, Indiana Tech; Jacob Loucks, Ottawa (Kan.); Zach Smerz, Ashford (Iowa); Bunk Coronado, Missouri Baptist; Adam Ranger, Jamestown (N.D.); Josh McDaniel, Tennessee Wesleyan; Isaiah Bell, Asbury (Ky.); Ryan Baker, Taylor (Ind.); Jacob Butler, St. Francis (Ill.); Isaac Duran, Patten (Calif.).

Player Nominees: Ben Alison, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Eduardo Fernandez, Wiley (Texas); Chance Kopacz, Campbellsville (Ky.); Matt Achter, Jamestown (N.D.); Ian MacGeorge, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Sean Myrom, Concordia (Ore.); Mike Mandarino, Cumberland (Tenn.); Mychal Harris, Indiana Southeast; Art Corona, Tabor (Kan.); Timothy Leary, Westmont (Calif.); Braxton Hamil, Mobile (Ala.); Ian Sikes, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Jacob Thompson, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Tanner O'Neill, Morningside (Iowa); Zach Kles, Reinhardt (Ga.); Kale Gaden, Oklahoma City; Josh Nuyten, York (Neb.); Robert Kane, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Billy Wright, Judson (Ill.); Jay Almendral, Patten (Calif.).

2012 Composite Award Winners (Pitcher; Player)
Week 1: Kris Hall, Lee (Tenn.); Ignatius Mackenzie, Indiana Tech

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho