2015 NAIA Baseball Opening Round Hosts Sites Announced

2015 NAIA Baseball Opening Round Hosts Sites Announced

By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has released the list of host sites for the seventh annual NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round, the national office announced Wednesday. The 45-team event will be played May 12 – 15 and features nine, five-team double elimination tournaments. Opening Round qualifiers and seeding will be announced May 8.

This year’s hosts include: Bellevue University (Neb.), Davenport University (Mich.), Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Fla.), Faulkner University (Ala.), Georgia Gwinnett College, Kingsport (Tenn.) Convention and Visitors Bureau, Oklahoma Baptist University, Oklahoma City University, and The Master’s College (Calif.).

Embry-Riddle has hosted every year since the format was established in 2009. The Eagles have advanced to the World Series in five of the six previous seasons.

Oklahoma City and Kingsport are the next longest tenured hosts with 2015 being the sixth and fifth time, respectively, the two have welcomed the event to their facility.

This year’s first-time hosts are: Bellevue and Davenport.

Last season, four of the nine hosts won their respective Opening Round tournaments. Overall, hosts have won 26-of-54 all-time Opening Rounds. Embry-Riddle and former-member Lee (Tenn.) boast the most Opening Round titles with five each.

The No. 1 seeds were dominant in the 2014 event, as eight-of-nine punched a ticket to the Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series. Third-seeded Cumberland (Tenn.), which would go on to win its third national title, was the only non-No. 1.

The Opening Round site selection process takes into account geography, facilities, student-athlete experience and host qualification. In the event that a selected bid is tied directly to an institution, that school is guaranteed at least an at-large host berth. The application deadline for bids was April 1.

The nine Opening Round champions join World Series host Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) to make up the field at the 2015 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho. The event is slated to run from May 22 – 29.

For the complete Opening Round schedule, click here.
For more information on the 2015 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series, click here.

2015 NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round Host Sites
(Listed alphabetically)
Host Facility Host City Event Title
Bellevue (Neb.) Roddy Field Bellevue, Neb. Bellevue Bracket
Davenport (Mich.) Farmers Insurance Athletic Complex Grand Rapids, Mich. Grand Rapids Bracket
Embry-Riddle (Fla.) Sliwa Stadium Daytona Beach, Fla. Daytona Beach Bracket
Faulkner (Ala.) Harrison Field Montgomery, Ala. Montgomery Bracket
Georgia Gwinnett Grizzly Baseball Complex Lawrenceville, Ga. Lawrenceville Bracket
Kingsport CVB Hunter Wright Stadium Kingsport, Tenn. Kingsport Bracket
Oklahoma Baptist Bison Field at Ford Park Shawnee, Okla. Shawnee Bracket
Oklahoma City Jim Wade Stadium Oklahoma City, Okla. Oklahoma City Bracket
The Master's (Calif.) Reese FieldĀ at Lou Herwaldt Stadium Santa Clarita, Calif. Santa Clarita Bracket

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho