NAIA Baseball National Players of the Week ? No. 4

NAIA Baseball National Players of the Week ? No. 4

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Josh Kallstrom of Oregon Tech has been named the NAIA Baseball National Player of the Week and David Mead of Ottawa (Kan.) has been chosen as the Pitcher of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. The duo was selected for their performances from April 2 – 8 and was picked out of a pool of conference award winners.

Baseball Player of the Week
Josh Kallstrom, Oregon Tech
6-2, Jr., 1B, Ephrata, Wash.

• Scored 10 runs and drove in eight RBI to lead the Owls to a season-best 4-0 week.
• Weekly Stats
o .647 batting average (11-for-17).
o Three doubles and two home runs.
o Ten runs scored and eight RBI.

Baseball Pitcher of the Week
David Mead, Ottawa (Kan.)
6-0, Sr., P, Live Oak, Texas

• Threw a no-hitter against Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference rival Bethany (Kan.)
• Weekly Stats
o Twelve strikeouts.
o Nine innings pitched.
o No walks.

For the entire national player of the week calendar, click here.

Pitcher Nominees: Ryan Furtney, William Woods (Mo.); Daniel Collins, Montreat (N.C.); Nicholas Ojinaga, Providence Christian (Calif.); Kenuel Dominguez, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Matt Patton, Taylor (Ind.); Jordan Dreibelbis, Vanguard (Calif.); Justin Niewohner, Doane (Neb.); Kyle Fulton, Central Methodist (Mo.); Hunter Peck, Georgia Gwinnett; Braeden Allemann, British Columbia; Curtis Hoppe, Cumberland (Tenn.); Mason Swegarden, Mayville State (N.D.); Collin Quinn, Houston-Victoria (Texas); Carlos Cespedes, Midway (Ky.); Matt Young, Oklahoma City; Tyler Thornton, Faulkner (Ala.); Alec Lamrouex, Keiser (Fla.); Mike Alexander, University of Northwestern Ohio.

Player Nominees: Jordan Wright, Columbia (Mo.); Tristan Clarke, Tennessee Wesleyan; Randy Rubio, Marymount California; Tyler Sroczynski, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Nathan Targgart, Taylor (Ind.); John Santospago, Hope International (Calif.); Colton VanOtterloo, Dordt (Iowa); Juwan Padro, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Darshon Broadwater, Stillman (Ala.); Anthony Cusati, British Columbia; Rodolfo Oleta, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Logan Roberts, Campbellsville (Ky.); Cal Fazzio, Waldorf (Iowa); Robert Herrera, LSU Shreveport (La.); Nicholas Lugo, Indiana Southeast (Ind.); Manny Lopez, Southwestern Christian (Okla.); MJ Rookard, Middle Georgia State; Marvin Malone, Southeastern (Fla.); Glen McClain, Indiana Tech

2018 Baseball Composite Award Winners (Pitcher; Player)
Week 1 (March 20): Parker Thode, Grand View (Iowa); Christian Snow, Mobile (Ala.)
Week 2 (March 27): Jonathan Bermudez, Southeastern (Fla.); Austin Kuchinski, Central Baptist (Ark.)
Week 3 (April 3): Matt Lindsley, York (Neb.); Max Christoff, Presentation (S.D.)
Week 4 (April 10): David Mead, Ottawa (Kan.); Josh Kallstrom, Oregon Tech

Championship Information



May 11-14, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites
May 22-29, 2020
Lewis-Clark State College
Lewiston, Idaho