Player of the Week - No. 11

Player of the Week - No. 11
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The final installment of the 2011 NAIA National Football Players of the Week was announced on Monday by the national office. Marc-Avery Airhart of Eastern Oregon was named NAIA Defensive Player of the Week, Austin Coleman of Saint Francis (Ind.) was tabbed NAIA Special Teams Player of the Week and Josh Hollingsworth of Faulkner (Ala.) was selected as NAIA Offensive Player of the Week for the week of Nov. 7 – 13. These winners were chosen out of a pool of player of the week performers among 10 conferences and Independents.

Airhart, a 5-foot-11, 215 pound senior linebacker posted seven total tackles (five solo) in the 27-16 Eastern Oregon win over Rocky Mountain (Mont.) on Nov. 12. He also recorded 2.0 tackles-for-loss for two yards. In the third quarter, Airhart scooped up a fumble and ran it back for a 50-yard touchdown. The native of Renton, Wash., helped limit the Bears to 157 yards of total offense. He ranks 21st in the NAIA in tackles per game (9.2).

Coleman, a 5-foot-8, 180 pound junior wide receiver tied the NAIA single-season record for kick-off return touchdowns in the 59-20 victory over NCAA Division II Central State (Ohio). His record-tying fourth return of the season occurred in the second quarter and sparked a 49-0 scoring run for the Cougars. That play was his fifth career kick-off touchdown return, which tied a Mid-States Football Association career mark. The native of Fort Wayne, Ind., averages 47.5 yards per return, which leads all levels of college football.

Hollingsworth, a 6-foot, 210 pound sophomore quarterback from Hamilton, Ala., set two individual NAIA single-game passing records in the 95-89 triple overtime win against Union (Ky.). Overall, he passed for a national-record 637 yards and his total offense yardage amount (661) also set a national standard. Hollingsworth went 48-for-63 passing with seven touchdowns against one interception. The Hamilton, Ala., native caught one touchdown pass for 13 yards and rushed five times for 11 yards. He entered his name in the Faulkner record books for passing yards, passing scores, attempts and completions. He was part of two national team records for most passing yards gained (650) and combined points scored (184).

In national rankings this season, he ranks first in passing yards per game (390.3) and total offense (420.0).

Offensive Nominees: Cameron Fore, Benedictine (Kan.); Garen Demery, St. Francis (Ill.); Jimmy Coy, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Brady Wardlaw, Southern Nazarene (Okla.); Robert Adan, Menlo (Calif.); Mike Keese, Saint Mary (Kan.); Drew Kier, Ave Maria (Fla.); Pat Hansen, Montana Tech ; Brandon Smith, Northwestern (Iowa); Chris Hart, Webber International (Fla.).

Defensive Nominees: James Bowman, St. Francis (Ill.); Johnathan Jenkins-Dill, Southern Nazarene (Okla.); Ricky Wadlington, Belhaven (Miss.); Chris Tosello, Menlo (Calif.); Trevion Sims, Saint Mary (Kan.); Joey Oxley, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Garrett Wheeler, Taylor (Ind.); Jeff Maassen, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D); Kurt Joseph, Ave Maria (Fla.); Nate Keller, Webber International (Fla.).

Special Teams Nominees: Joshua Howells, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Will Bothwell, Friends (Kan.); Tyson Buresh, Hastings (Neb.); Jared Cobb, Kentucky Christian ; Cody Morrow, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Sean Blomquist, Carroll (Mont.); Hunter Ovens, Webber International (Fla.).

2011 Football Players of the Week (Offense; Defense; Special Teams)
Week 1: Brandon Smith, Northwestern (Iowa); Reece Green, Marian (Ind.); Marcus Bratton, UVa-Wise (Va.)
Week 2: Chris Ware, Eastern Oregon; Vincent Aguilar, Trinity International (Ill.); Levi Cockle, Peru State (Neb.)
Week 3: Josh Hollingsworth, Faulkner (Ala.); Ross Bauman, Saint Francis (Ind.); Terry Stecker, Kansas Wesleyan
Week 4: Trevor Hoskins, Pikeville (Ky.); Demitri Travis, Pikeville (Ky.); Alex Fambrough, Bethany (Kan.)
Week 5: Jimmy Coy, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Nate Collier, Graceland (Iowa); Tom Lynch, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 6: E.J. White, St. Francis (Ill.); Eric Sheppard, Marian (Ind.); James McClain, Cumberland (Tenn.)
Week 7: Cameron Fore, Benedictine (Kan.); Mike Siegersma, Carroll (Mont.); Aukkarapong Sribenjakul, Montana Western
Week 8: E.J. White, St. Francis (Ill.); Dantren Anderson, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Tom Lynch, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 9: John van den Raadt, Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Cris Basch, Saint Mary (Kan.); Treyton Buresh, Midland (Neb.)
Week 10: Brett Giesen, Kansas Wesleyan; Dustin Craig, Marian (Ind.); Sean Murray, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 11: Josh Hollingsworth, Faulkner (Ala.); Marc-Avery Airhart, Eastern Oregon; Austin Coleman, Saint Francis (Ind.)

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Ruston, La.