2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 1

2017 NAIA Football Players of the Week ? No. 1

By Alan Grosbach, Associate Director of Athletics Communications and Media
Photo by Lindsay Willmer

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Griff Amies of Rocky Mountain (Mont.), Quinn McQueary of Montana Tech and Dominic Swillum of MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.) were named the NAIA Football National Players of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The trio was chosen for their performances during the week of Sept. 4 – 10 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.

Special Teams Player of the Week
Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)
Sr., K, Newport Beach, Calif.
• Amies ended the afternoon a perfect 4-for-4 on field goal attempts to help Rocky Mountain to a 40-14 win over Frontier Conference rival Carroll (Mont.).
• Weekly Stats:
   o Converted 4-of-4 field goal attempts, including a long of 38 yards.
   o Connected on 4-of-4 PATs.

Offensive Player of the Week
Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech
Sr., QB, Manhattan, Mont.
• McQueary set a Montana Tech record with 432 yards of total offense in the Orediggers’ 70-27 victory over Montana State-Northern last Saturday.
• Weekly Stats
   o Completed 21-of-31 passing attempts for 359 yards and a season-high four touchdowns.
   o Ran for 73 yards and two touchdowns.
   o Caught one pass for 33 yards.
   o Led Montana Tech to a school record 70 points scored.

Defensive Player of the Week
Dominic Swillum, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Sr., LB, Mount Vernon, Mo.
• Swillum tallied a 2017 NAIA single-game high with 26 tackles in the Pioneers’ 31-12 victory over then-No. 23 William Penn (Iowa).
• Weekly Stats
   o The 26 tackles are the most for a MidAmerica Nazarene player since the 1985 season.
   o Ten of his 26 stops were solo.
   o Tallied 0.5 tackles for loss.
   o Ranks fourth nationally in tackles per game (13.3).

For more information on NAIA football, click here.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Offensive Nominees: Dillon Turner, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.); Johnny William, Marian (Ind.); Clayton Nicholas, Faulkner (Ala.); Alex Martinez, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Jaylen Lowe, Langston (Okla.); Trevor McNeil, St. Andrews (N.C.); Dezmon Huntley, Cumberland (Tenn.); Aaron Chisolm, Sterling (Kan.); Logan Brettell, Baker (Kan.); Creighton Pfau, Mayville State (N.D.).

Defensive Nominees: Derrick Short, Marian (Ind.); Daniel Johnson, Faulkner (Ala.); Dereck DeVries, Dakota State (S.D.); James Cox, Langston (Okla.); Devon Jackson, Bluefield (Va.); Chris Overton, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Tarence Roby, Concordia (Neb.); David Emanuel, Cumberland (Tenn.); Nicholas McGrew, Sterling (Kan.); Tre Holmes, Southern Oregon.

Special Teams Nominees: Chris Watts, Faulkner (Ala.); Brywn Ractliffe, Dakota State (S.D.); Derek Brush, Arizona Christian; Chase Ferger, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Connor Niles, Morningside (Iowa); Ryan Johnson, Saint Francis (Ind.); Pablo Dongarro Travecedo, Cumberland (Tenn.); Michael Winstead, Sterling (Kan.); C'Darius Cateo, Union (Ky.); Eric Fridl, Grand View (Iowa).

2017 Football Composite Award Winners (Offensive, Defensive, Special Teams)
Week 1 (Sept. 11): Quinn McQueary, Montana Tech; Dominic Swillum, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Griff Amies, Rocky Mountain (Mont.).

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.