2018 NAIA Football Players of the Week — Week 10

2018 NAIA Football Players of the Week — Week 10

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Jacob Bakken of Rocky Mountain (Mont.) has been named the NAIA National Football Offensive Player of the Week, Seth Majerus of Doane (Neb.) has been named the NAIA National Football Defensive Player of the Week and Kyle Mitchell of College of Idaho has been named the NAIA National Football Special Teams Player of the Week, the national office announced Monday. The three student-athletes were nominated for their performances during the week of Oct. 29 – Nov. 4 and were selected out of a pool of conference award winners.


Special Teams Player of the Week

Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho

Jr., K, Herriman, Utah

  • Hit game-winning, 45-yard field goal in upset over then-No. 20 Montana Western
  • Weekly Stats:
    • Game-winning field goal
    • Set new College of Idaho record with 45-yarder


Defensive Player of the Week

Seth Majerus, Doane (Neb.)

Sr., DB, Seward, Neb.

  • Recorded a pick-six on the first play of the game against Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)
  • Weekly Stats:
    • Three interceptions
    • One touchdown
    • One pass breakup


Offensive Player of the Week

Jacob Bakken, Rocky Mountain (Mont.)

Sr., QB, Wibaux, Mont.

  • Led Rocky Mountain to win over then-No. 24 Eastern Oregon
  • Weekly Stats:
    • 423 yards passing
    • Five touchdowns

Offensive Nominees: Kashard Cohens, St. Andrews (N.C.) ; Dino Borrelli, St. Ambrose (Iowa) ; Bryan Bell, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Jd Woods, Baker (Kan.) ; Hayden Gibson, Dickinson State (N.D.) ; Matt Crable, Saint Francis (Ind.) ; Cameron Dukes, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) ; Jordan Mann, Jamestown (N.D.) ; Brennan Whitaker, Friends (Kan.)

Defensive Nominees: Tristen Alesi, College of Idaho ; Shar'quez Hamilton, Ave Maria (Fla.) ; Ian Sweeney, Culver-Stockton (Mo.) ; Nicholas Holmes, Saint Mary (Kan.) ; Micheal Miller, Texas Wesleyan ; Terry Tiller, Cumberland (Tenn.) ; Travon Smith, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Josh Hettiger, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Jaylen Cowley, Missouri Baptist ; Seth Nichols, Union (Ky.)


Special Teams Nominees: Ray Vallot, St. Francis (Ill.) ; Emilio Araiza, Arizona Christian ; Bryce Cooney, Doane (Neb.) ; Marcus Mannerstedt, Webber International (Fla.) ; Cj Erwin, Saint Mary (Kan.) ; Landon Arredondo, Valley City State (N.D.) ; Nate Mclaurin, Baker (Kan.) ; Gavin Gardner, Saint Francis (Ind.) ; Nick Marquez, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; David Nobles, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)


2018-19 Football Composite Award Winners (Defensive, Offensive, Special Teams)


Week 1 (September 05): Sean Powell, Northwestern (Iowa) , Shaye Slaughter, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) , Devon Mcmillin, Cumberlands (Ky.)

Week 2 (September 12): Bryce Van Beek, Northwestern (Iowa) , Adam Abbatacola, Arizona Christian , Steven Delia, Briar Cliff (Iowa)

Week 3 (September 19): Tori Williams, SAGU (Texas) , Trent Solsma, Morningside (Iowa) , Cooper Lee, Baker (Kan.)

Week 4 (September 26): Kwame Sexton, Sterling (Kan.) , Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho , Nathan Harden, Eastern Oregon

Week 5 (October 03): Trentyn Jackson, Ave Maria (Fla.) , Charles Salary, Marian (Ind.) , Tyler Gerig, Taylor (Ind.)

Week 6 (October 10): Nick Edney, Concordia (Mich.) , Trent Solsma, Morningside (Iowa) , Tre Adger, Benedictine (Kan.)

Week 7 (October 17): Eric Dunten, Saint Francis (Ind.) , Conner Kaegi, Ottawa (Kan.) , David Larson, Southeastern (Fla.)

Week 8 (October 24): Landon Jones, SAGU (Texas) , Darius-James Peterson, College of Idaho , Mike Iturbe, Saint Xavier (Ill.)

Week 9 (October 31): Nickai Poyser, Marian (Ind.) , Jaylen Lowe, Langston (Okla.) , Brady Jansen, Grand View (Iowa)

Week 10 (November 07): Seth Majerus, Doane (Neb.) , Jacob Bakken, Rocky Mountain (Mont.) , Kyle Mitchell, College of Idaho


Don’t miss a minute of any NAIA Championship this season. Buy your All-Championship Pass today.

Championship Information

NAIA Football Championship

November 23, 30, Dec. 7, 2019
Football Championship Series
Campus Sites

December 21, 2019
Eddie G. Robinson Stadium
Grambling, La.