Player of the Week - No. 8

Player of the Week - No. 8

By Chad Waller, Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Antonio Marshall of Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Division I Men's Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Marshall was selected based on his performances from Feb. 13 - 19 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Marshall, a 5-foot-9 senior guard, made big impressions in two Tiger wins last week against Saint Xavier (Ill.), who was receiving votes in the Top 25, and No. 3 Robert Morris (Ill.). In the 85-77 win over Saint Xavier on Feb. 14, Marshall finished with 24 points on 8-of-15 shooting. He knocked home 5-of-7 attempts from 3-point range.

His highlight came on Feb. 18 in the 95-85 win against the Eagles. The native of Bowling Green, Ind., poured in a career-high 34 points and grabbed five rebounds. In the process, Olivet Nazarene handed Robert Morris its first conference loss on the year. Additionally, the victory was the Tigers first over a top-10 opponent since December 12, 2009.

For the week, he averaged 29.0 points, 3.5 rebounds, 2.5 steals, and shot 56.3 percent (18-of-32) overall. He ranks 27th in the NAIA in assists per game (4.7) and 30th in total scoring (451).

The final Player of the Week announcement will be on Feb. 28.

Nominees: Chris Ferguson, Mid-Continent (Ky.); Kenny LaGuerre, Wiley (Texas); Devin Jackson, Montana State-Northern; Ryan Westbrooks, Lee (Tenn.); Eric Franklin, Central Methodist (Mo.); Andrew Miller, William Woods (Mo.); Cedric Henderson, Campbellsville (Ky.); Garland McArthur, Voorhees (S.C.); Fayzon Richey, St. Gregory's (Okla.); Mark Williams, Mountain State (W.Va.); Cameron Gliddon, Concordia (Calif.); Ken Brown, Philander Smith (Ark.).

2011-12 Composite Award Winners
Week 1: Eric Frederick, Texas Wesleyan
Week 2: Josh Orta, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)
Week 3: Chase Spreen, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)
Week 4: Eric Frederick, Texas Wesleyan
Week 5: Walter Hill, Shorter (Ga.)
Week 6: Brad Karp, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Week 7: Kyle Erickson, Montana Western
Week 8: Antonio Marshall, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)