Rojas, Massimino Earn Postseason Honors

Rojas, Massimino Earn Postseason Honors

March 16, 2011


KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The NABC/NAIA announced its 2011 Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Year and Sadiel Rojas of Oklahoma Wesleyan University earned the top honor. Rojas ranked second in the NAIA in scoring and rebounding, pouring in nearly 26 points and 12 boards per game. The senior shot better than 54% from the field and guided his team to a 29-5 record and its fourth straight national tournament appearance. Oklahoma Wesleyan, seeded ninth in the 32 team field, won its first two games at the championship but then lost to #2 Northwood (Fla.) in the quarterfinals. In the Eagles first round 82-81 overtime win, Rojas scored 43 points, tying the fourth highest total at the championship, and tied the single-game tournament record with 23 rebounds. He also set the career rebounding record in the win and finished the tournament with 164 rebounds. Rojas is the second straight Oklahoma Wesleyan player to earn the honor as Steve Briggs was named last year’s player of the year.

The UPS NABC-NAIA announced its 2011 Coach of the Year and Rollie Massimino, head coach of Northwood (Fla.), received the honor. Massimino guided the Seahawks to their best ever record, finishing 33-4. They were also the first Northwood team to be ranked first and the first team from The Sun Conference to hold the top ranking since 2000. Coach Massimino led his team to its fifth national tournament in as many years, earning its highest seed (#2) and reaching the semifinals for the first time. They were defeated by the national champion, Cornerstone (Mich.), in Monday’s semifinal.


Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.