Player of the Week - No. 7

Player of the Week - No. 7

By Chad Waller, Director of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Roddy Richardson of Calumet (Ind.) has been named the NAIA National Division II Men's Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Richardson was selected based on his performances from Feb. 6 - 12 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groups.

Richardson, a 6-foot-3 sophomore guard, helped the Crimson Wave take down No. 1 Robert Morris (Ill.), 92-85, in overtime on Feb. 8. He scored the first three points of overtime to put Calumet up for good, 83-80. The native of Lafayette, Ind., finished with 18 points, five rebounds and three assists. In the 69-50 victory over Judson (Ill.) on Feb. 11, Richardson shot 9-for-13 from the field to post 24 points. He added nine rebounds and two steals.

For the week, he averaged 21.0 points, 7.0 rebounds and 2.5 assists. He shot 51.7 percent (15-for-29) from the floor and knocked down 9-of-16 (.563) 3-point attempts.

The final Player of the Week announcement will be on Feb. 14.

Nominees: Daniel Cornelius, Arizona Christian; Daniel Cornelius, Arizona Christian; Byron Jones, Jamestown (N.D.); Marcus Isaac, Indiana East; James Humphrey, Davenport (Mich.); Trenton Stutzman, Sterling (Kan.); Kaelon Gary, Central Christian (Kan.); Mike Kennedy, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Chris Sievers, Dordt (Iowa); Bobby Hunter, Oregon Tech; Tevin Hurd, Dickinson State (N.D.); Asa Braxton, Point Park (Pa.); Derrick Troyer, Indiana Wesleyan; La'Bris Adams, Montreat (N.C.); Craig Wong, Johnson & Wales (Fla.); Tim Tatum, Menlo (Calif.)

2011-12 Composite Award Winners
Week 1: Bobby Hunter, Oregon Tech
Week 2: Caleb Kennedy, Huntington (Ind.)
Week 3: Adam Herman, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 4: Alex Sylvester, Marian (Ind.)
Week 5: Rodney Bartholomew, Indiana Tech
Week 6: Bruce Grimm Jr., Grace (Ind.)
Week 7: Roddy Richardson, Calumet (Ind.)

Championship Information

NAIA DII Men's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Sioux Falls, S.D.