Oklahoma City, Malone's Lower Champions of 2010 NAIA National Championships

SILVIS, Ill. – No. 1 Oklahoma City University has been crowned the new champion at 2010 NAIA Men's Golf National Championships at the TPC at Deere Run Golf Course in Silvis, Ill. on Friday. After placing fourth in last year’s tournament, Oklahoma City shot a 288 as a team to total 1184, which was five strokes ahead of runner up and dethroned 2009 champion Oklahoma Christian University.

Malone University’s (Ohio) Justin Lower shot an even par 71 for the second consecutive day, shooting a 280 overall (68-70-71-71) in tournament play.

Malone University took third place at 1190 (299-293-304 -294), which was one stroke behind Oklahoma City, while Southern Carolina Beaufort carded a 293 to total 1191 (295-291-312-293) and Holy Names University (Calif.) recorded 1195 (296-302-305-292) overall to place in the top five standings.

Madonna University’s (Mich.) Brett Quitiquit finished six strokes behind the leader, good for second place, and was able to beat out Armando Villarreal of Texas Wesleyan University by two strokes. Quitiquit totaled a 286 (68-71-76-71) and Villarreal finished with a 288 (73-72-76-67), as Oklahoma City’s Julian Valenciana scored a 288 (69-73-75-71) and Shorter University’s (Ga.) Arvid Bengtson rounded out the top five with a 289 (73-75-71-70).

Ken Hyland, in his 38th season of coaching at Malone University, won the 2010 NAIA Coach of the Year Award after placing first at the AMC/NAIA Region Championship in April.

The 2009 NAIA Men's Golf National Championships were hosted by St. Ambrose University (Iowa) and the Quad Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau. The four-round event will return to TPC at Deere Run in 2011. The GCAA and NAIA All-American teams will be announced next week.

All-Tournament Team – Top 16 individuals:

Justin Lower – Malone University
Brett Quitiquit – Madonna University
Armando Villarreal – Texas Wesleyan University
Julian Valenciana – Oklahoma City University
Arvid Bengtson – Shorter (Ga.)
Garrett True – Holy Names University
Oscar Stark – Oklahoma Christian University
Pierre Carlsson – University of the Cumberlands
Michael Loppnow – Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Richard Docherty – Lindenwood University
Rick Fee – Grand View University
J.D. Nash – William Woods University
Axel Ochoa – Oklahoma Christian University
Jon Pannone – South Carolina Beaufort
Josh Manske – Grand View University
Austin Conroy – Indiana Wesleyan University


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.