Coastal Georgia Wins Second-Straight National Championship

Coastal Georgia Wins Second-Straight National Championship

By Justin Jarrett, NAIA Media Coordinator

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. — (Team results) (Individual Results) Coastal Georgia cruised to its second consecutive title at the NAIA Men's Golf National Championships on Friday, posting a team score of 3-over-par 291 to finish the 72-hole event at 7-under and outpace runner-up William Woods (Mo.) by 11 shots.

The race for the O.D. Bounds National Medalist Trophy was even more anticlimactic, as Dalton State's (Ga.) Sean Elliott (pictured) took a six-shot lead into the final round and closed a remarkable tournament with a 2-under-par 70 on the par-72 Hills Course at LPGA International. Elliott finished at 16-under-par 272, breaking the 60-year-old tournament scoring record of 273 set by Ray Ferguson of North Texas State in 1955.

Elliott finished eight shots clear of William Woods' David Houlding, who closed with a 5-under-par 67 to finish at 8-under.

The Mariners became the 11th team in the 64-year history of the event to win consecutive titles. They began the day with a 16-shot lead and saw it trimmed to a five-shot margin before righting the ship on the back nine to pull away. Three all-tournament team members led Coastal Georgia to the crown, as Alastair Tidcombe and Hunter Cornelius tied for fourth at 5-under and Allen Bradford tied for 13th at 2-over.

Mariners coach Mike Cook also took home the NAIA Coach of the Year award for the second straight season.

2015 NAIA Men's Golf Coach of the Year: Mike Cook Coastal Georgia

2015 NAIA Men's Golf National Championship All-Tournament Team

Sean Elliott, Dalton State (Ga.)
David Houlding, William Woods (Mo.)
Nikolaj Brons-Piche, Texas Wesleyan
Hunter Cornelius, Coastal Georgia
Alastair Tidcombe, Coastal Georgia
Jose Acevedo, Bethany (Kan.)
W. Greg Gentry, Webber International (Fla.)
Evan Ball, Tennessee Wesleyan
Sam De'Ath, Webber International (Fla.)
Stone Cowie, Thomas (Ga.)
Peter French, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Jake Bauer, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Jose Vega, Bellevue (Neb.)
Andrew Williamson, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Allen Bradford, Coastal Georgia
Scott Secord, British Columbia
Matt Wells, William Woods (Mo.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.