2016 NAIA Men?s Golf National Championships Final Round Recap

2016 NAIA Men?s Golf National Championships Final Round Recap

By Scott Barker, Communications and Sports Information Intern

SILVIS, Ill. – (Results: Individual | Team) For the third time in five years and the 10th time overall, the Stars of Oklahoma City are crowned National Champions. The Stars overcame a seven stroke deficit to defeat runner-up British Columbia by eight shots.

Oklahoma City shot a 2-over-par 286 in the final round to post its lowest score of the tournament.
For the tournament the Stars carded a 29-over-par (292-297-289-286 – 1,164) performance.

British Columbia, leading the field at the start of the final round, shot a 36-over-par 301 to finish second. The second-place finish is the highest finish for British Columbia since 2011 at TPC Deere Run when they finished in the same position. The Thunderbirds finished with a 36-over-par (299-289-283-301 – 1,172) for the four round tournament.

William Woods (Mo.) finished third, one shot behind British Columbia and nine shots behind Oklahoma City. The Owls led after rounds one and two, but fell off after the third round. William Woods carded a 6-over-par 290 in the final round. For the tournament, the Owls shot 1,173 (284-301-298-290).

David Ravetto of Texas Wesleyan was crowned as the individual champion, after shooting a 3-under-par (72-70-71-68—281) over the course of four days. Ravetto becomes the 10th Ram to win the individual title, the most by any school.

Matthew Cheung of Oklahoma City (71-70-72-71 – 281) finished as the runner-up after finishing in a tie for 46th last year. Cheung shot 15 strokes better in 2016 than 2015.

Lawren Rowe (third-place) of Victoria (B.C.) (73-67-73-74 – 287), Anthony Marchesani (tied fourth) of Oklahoma City (72-72-73-72 – 289), Evan Holmes (tied fourth) of British Columbia (79-71-68-71 – 289), Dylan MacQueen (tied fourth) of Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) (74-72-73-70 –289) and Gustavo Vaccaro of Southeasern (Fla.) (73-71-72-73 – 289) rounds out the top-five.
Oklahoma City’s Kyle Blasser was named NAIA Men’s Golf National Coach of the Year for the ninth time in his career.

2016 NAIA Men’s Golf Coach of the Year: Kyle Blasser, Oklahoma City

2016 NAIA Men’s Golf National Championship All-Tournament Team:
David Ravetto, Texas Wesleyan
Matthew Cheung, Oklahoma City
Lawren Rowe, Victoria (B.C.)
Anthony Marchesani, Oklahoma City
Evan Holmes, British Columbia
Dylan MacQueen, Cardinal Stritch (WIs.)
Gustavo Vaccaro, Southeastern (Fla.)
Peter French, Johnson & Wales (Fla.)
Rupert Kaminski, Oklahoma City
Matt Wells, William Woods (Mo.)
David Houlding, William Woods (Mo.)
Nate Ollis, British Columbia
Ian Ansett, Wayland Baptist (Texas)
Alasdair McDougall, William Woods (Mo.)
Jack Wood, British Columbia
Sergio Garcia, St. Ambrose (Iowa)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.