2017 NAIA Men’s Golfer of the Week ? No. 3 (April 5)

2017 NAIA Men’s Golfer of the Week ? No. 3 (April 5)

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Andre Beccera of Bellevue (Neb.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Golfer of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Beccera was selected based on his performances from March 27 – April 2 and was chosen out of a pool of conference, Association of Independent Institutions and unaffiliated group winners.

National Golfer of the Week
Andre Beccera, Bellevue (Neb.)
Fr., Gualdajara, Mexico

• Beccera’s two-round score of 68-68—136 (-6) helped lead the Bruins to a second-place team finish out of 11 teams at the TPC Deere Run Invite in Silvis, Ill..
• Beccera’s two-round six-under par score claimed him his first individual title of the season.
• Finished two strokes ahead of the runner-up Alec Dutkowski of Taylor (Ind.) in the 60-golfer field.
• Named the North Star Athletic Association Men’s Golfer of the Week.

Nominees: Jack Clarkson, William Woods (Mo.); Daymond Dollens, Columbia (Mo.); John Torres, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Curtis Brokenbrow, Missouri Baptist; Reed Burroughs, College of Idaho; Huston Gass, St. Francis (Ill.); Matt Winkelmann, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Joey Medora, Holy Cross (Ind.); Matthew Clark, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Casey Domke, Governors State (Ill.); Connor  Schlegel , Calumet (Ind.); Ryan Wells, Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Alec Dutkowski, Taylor (Ind.);  Drew Cahill, Indiana Wesleyan; Ben Gardner, Carroll (Mont.); Collin Tedesco, Hastings (Neb.); Frederik Lundsgaard, William Penn (Iowa); Brian Krehbiel, Bethel (Kan.); Troy Watson, Kansas Wesleyan; Justin Warman, Campbellsville (Ky.); Federico Navarro, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Hugo Becerra, Waldorf (Iowa); Kane Ybarra, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Tyler Pearson, Indiana East; Andres Echeveste, WVU Tech; David Ravetto, Texas Wesleyan; Steven Diack, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Walker Gordon, Martin Methodist (Tenn.); Carlos Andres Lara, St. Thomas (Fla.); Carlos Ardila, Southeastern (Fla.); Joe Bannan, Thomas (Ga.); Brandon Hoelzer, Lourdes (Ohio); Kurt Sprague, Davenport (Mich.); Justin Pahl, Madonna (Mich.); Nick Kocks, Indiana Tech; Ian Clement, Northwestern Ohio

2017 Men's Golf Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (March 22): Paxton Shuman, Coastal Georgia 
Week 2 (March 29): S.m. Lee, Dalton State (Ga.) 
Week 3 (April 5): Andre Beccera, Bellevue (Neb.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Golf Championship

May 19-22, 2020
Las Sendas Golf Club
Mesa, Ariz.