SCAD Women and Fresno Pacific Men Win NAIA Swimming and Diving National Championship

SCAD Women and Fresno Pacific Men Win NAIA Swimming and Diving National Championship

March 6, 2010

ST. PETERS, Mo. - One repeat champion and one first-time champion were crowned on Saturday night at the St. Peters Rec-Plex during the final night of the 2010 NAIA Swimming and Diving National Championships. Savannah College of Art and Design was unranked in the final women's poll but it successfully defended its 2009 championship. Fresno Pacific University won the school's first swimming and diving national championship on the men's side of the competition.

SCAD finished the event with 540 points, 68 ahead of runner-up California Baptist University. The Bees did not win a single event on the women's side but used its depth for the second national title in program history. Rounding out the top five were Fresno Pacific with 451 points, Concordia University with 393 points, and Simon Fraser University with 354.

Fresno Pacific won five men's events and finished with 659.5 points. Defending champion California Baptist was runner-up with 488.5 points, followed by Lindenwood University with 477, Concordia with 428.5, and SCAD with 421.

Two records were broken on the final day of competition, both in the 200 fly. Azusa Pacific's Kaylen Hewko won her second national championship of the year with a national record time of 2:02.57. Lindenwood's Javier Hernandez captured the men's title with a national record mark of 1:46.74.

Other top highlights of the final day of competition came from four other swimmers, along with Hewko, winning their second individual national title. Fresno Pacific's Cheyenne Coffman won the 100 free, Simon Fraser's David Hibberd won the 100 free, SCAD's Alex Graudins won the 1,650 free, and Fresno Pacific's Erik Thiessen won the 200 back.

Other women's individual champions on the night were Fresno Pacific's Brook Turner in the 1650 free, Biola University's April Smith in the 200 breast, and California Baptist's Lara Pease in the 200 back. The other men's individual champion was Lindenwood's Sergio Molina in the 200 breast. In the relay events, Fresno Pacific completed a sweep of the five women's relays by winning the 400 free relay. The men's 400 free relay went to Concordia.

The women's Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet was Fresno Pacific's Cheyenne Coffman, and the men's Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet was California Baptist's Kevin Sellars. The women's Outstanding Diver of the Meet was Concordia's Christine Runkle, and the men's Outstanding Diver of the Meet was California Baptist's Trevor Graifman. Women's Coach of the Year honors went to Fresno Pacific's Peter Richardson, and the Men's Coach of the Year award went to Lindenwood's Craig Penrose.

2010 Men's Meet Records: Kevin Sellars, California Baptist (200 IM, 1:49.44), Kevin Sellars, California Baptist (400 IM, 3:53.86), David Hibberd, Simon Fraser (200 free, 1:38.08), Javier Hernandez, Lindenwood (200 fly, 1:46.74), Fresno Pacific (200 medley relay, 1:29.86), California Baptist (800 free relay, 6:42.98)

2010 Women's Meet Records: Cheyenne Coffman, Fresno Pacific (50 free, 22.90), Cheyenne Coffman, Fresno Pacific (100 back, 55.39), Kaylen Hewko, Azusa Pacific (200 fly, 2:02.57), Fresno Pacific (200 medley relay, 1:45.04), Fresno Pacific (400 medley relay, 3:50.75)


Championship Information

NAIA Swim & Dive Championship

March 4 - March 7, 2020
Allan Jones Aquatic Center
Knoxville, Tennessee