Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) Wins NAIA Men's Tennis National Championship

Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) Wins NAIA Men's Tennis National Championship

May 22, 2010

MOBILE, Ala.(Bracket) Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) defeated Fresno Pacific (Calif.), 5-2, in the 59th Annual NAIA Men’s Tennis National Championship in Mobile, Ala. Auburn Montgomery fell to the Sunbirds a year ago in the title match. The Senators have now won nine national championships overall and four out of the last five.

Auburn Montgomery took two of three doubles matches, for an early 2-1 lead. The Senators received points in one doubles from Saad Benkirane and Michael Johnson (8-4) and in two doubles from Ayrton Wibowa and Bence Toth (8-1). Martin Vaisse and Maxime Adam pulled out the three doubles match, 8-6, for Fresno Pacific.

The Senators and Sunbirds split the first two singles matches. Wibowa won four singles over Denny Fafek (6-2, 6-1), but Adam answered back for FPU with a 6-3, 6-1 victory over Benkirane in five singles. Alberto Romera Gonzalez claimed one singles with a 6-2, 6-2 win over Xavier Smith and Sadio Doumbia clinched the title with a 6-1, 6-4 victory over Alex Gonzalez in two singles.

After the match, Auburn Montgomery Head Coach Scott Kidd was named Coach of the Year and Alberto Romera Gonzalez was presented the Ward-Ballinger Outstanding Player Award.

Scott Kidd, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)

Alberto Romera Gonzalez, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)


No. 1 – Alberto Romera Gonzalez (AUM) def. Xavier Smith (FPU), 6-2, 6-2
No. 2 – Sadio Doumbia (AUM) def. Alex Gonzalez (FPU), 6-1, 6-4
No. 3 – Michael Johnson (AUM) vs. Martin Vaisse (FPU), 3-6, 7-6 DNF
No. 4 – Ayrton Wibowa (AUM) vs. Denny Fafek (FPU), 6-2, 6-1
No. 5 – Maxime Adam (FPU) def. Saad Benkirane (AUM), 6-3, 6-1
No. 6 – Bence Toth (AUM) vs. Jose Hilla (FPU), 7-5, 5-2 DNF

No. 1 – Saad Benkirane / Michael Johnson (AUM) def. Xavier Smith / Alex Gonzalez (FPU), 8-4
No. 2 – Ayrton Wibowa / Bence Toth (AUM) def. Denny Fafek / Jose Hilla (FPU), 8-1
No. 3 – Martin Vaisse / Maxime Adam (FPU) def. Loic Didavi / Alberto Romera Gonzalez (AUM), 8-6


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.