2012 Men?s Tennis All-Americans Announced

2012 Men?s Tennis All-Americans Announced
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 Men's Tennis All-Americans. Players were selected by the All-America committee. The list of honorees includes 16 student-athletes on each of the first and second teams, plus 18 honorable mentions.

National champion Oklahoma Christian tied Fresno Pacific (Calif.) and Embry-Riddle (Fla.) for the most All-Americans with four apiece. Oklahoma Christian’s Bruno Tiberti, named the Ward-Ballinger Most Outstanding Player following Saturday’s title match, heads the quartet of Eagle All-Americans. It is the second-straight First Team All-America honor for the sophomore from Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Other repeat First Team All-Americans include Azusa Pacific’s (Calif.) Janosch Apelt and Jochem Hoefnagels, Embry-Riddle’s Chris Freeman, Fresno Pacific’s Xavier Smith and Kirill Sinitsyn, Oklahoma Christian’s Martin Poboril, Vanguard’s (Calif.) Lucas Pereira, Westmont’s (Calif.) Bryan Cox and William Carey’s (Miss.) Jody Claassen.

All-Americans by class:
Senior: 10
Junior: 6
Sophomore: 12
Freshman: 4

First Team
Name School Class Hometown
Aaron Hendrick Aquinas (Mich.) So. Grand Rapids, Mich.
Nicolas Pinones-Haltenhoff Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) Fr. Barcelona, Spain
Janosch Apelt Azusa Pacific (Calif.) Sr. Frankfurt, Germany
Jochem Hoefnagels Azusa Pacific (Calif.) Jr. Asten, Netherlands
Bruno Santarelli Concordia (Calif.) Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Chris Freeman Embry-Riddle (Fla.) Jr. Costa Mesa, Calif.
Patrick Besch Embry-Riddle (Fla.) So. Mainz, Germany
Xavier Smith Fresno Pacific (Calif.) Sr. Visalia, Calif.
Kirill Sinitsyn Fresno Pacific (Calif.) Jr. Toronto, Canada
Fernando Bogajo Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Fr. Malaga, Spain
Bruno Tiberti Oklahoma Christian So. Buenos Aires, Argentina
Martin Poboril Oklahoma Christian Jr. Pribram, Czech Republic
Lucas Pereira Vanguard (Calif.) Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Bryan Cox Westmont (Calif.) Sr. Alamo, Calif.
Jody Claassen William Carey (Miss.) So. Cape Town, South Africa
Loic Didavi Xavier (La.) Jr. Cotonou, Benin
Second Team
Name School Class Hometown
Bence Toth Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) Jr. Budapest, Hungary
Carlos Anton Campbellsville University (Ky.) Sr. Zamora, Spain
Antonio Manuel Marcelo Cumberland (Tenn.) Fr. Cascais, Portugal
Adrian Bayh Embry-Riddle (Fla.) Sr. Stuttgart, Germany
Simon Felix Embry-Riddle (Fla.) So. Geneva, Switzerland
Nathan Martinet Fresno Pacific (Calif.) So. Pau, France
Cledson Carvalho Fresno Pacific (Calif.) Sr. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Vladislav Khudziy Huntington (Ind.) So. Moscow, Russia
Fabricio Morales Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) So. Cancun, Mexico
Jaime Sanchez-Canamares Oklahoma Christian So. Albacete, Spain
Pier Pieracciani Oklahoma Christian Sr. Salvador, Brazil
Roger Muri Vanguard (Calif.) Fr. Zurich, Switzerland
Tim Goranson Westmont (Calif.) So. Falkenberg, Sweden
Rodrigo Schaefer Westmont (Calif.) So. Florianopolis, Brazil
Ricky Keppeler William Carey (Miss.) So. Stuttgart, Germany
Zach Taylor Xavier (La.) Sr. Monroe, La.
Honorable Mention
Name School    
Nik Artaev Aquinas (Mich.)    
Marlu Jansen Van Vuuren Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)    
Joshua Reason Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)    
Benedikt Eger Azusa Pacific (Calif.)    
Frederik Wilkens Azusa Pacific (Calif.)    
Jefferson Nino Belhaven (Miss.)    
Peter Francis Embry-Riddle (Fla.)    
David Spennare Embry-Riddle (Fla.)    
Amarit Sanchez Fresno Pacific (Calif.)    
Lloyd Bruce-Burgess Fresno Pacific (Calif.)    
Renardy Guelfi Oklahoma Christian    
Nicolas Auruccio Oklahoma Christian    
Julian Kurz Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)    
David Darling Spring Arbor (Mich.)    
Thomas Caldrone Spring Arbor (Mich.)    
Julian Ramirez Warner (Fla.)    
Thomas Rizk William Carey (Miss.)    
Viktor Svoboda Xavier (La.)


Championship Information

NAIA Men's Tennis Championships

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.