Athlete of the Week ? No. 6

Athlete of the Week ? No. 6
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Clarence Anderson of Ottawa (Kan.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Ethan DeJongh of Fresno Pacific (Calif.) has been tabbed as the NAIA National Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Anderson and DeJongh were selected based on their performances from Feb. 6 – 12.

Anderson, a native of Wichita, Kan., starred at the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Championships held Feb. 10 – 11. He took Male Athlete of the Meet honors after a trio of first-place finishes as he grabbed gold in the 60-meter dash (6.88), the 200-meter dash (22.07) and the 400-meter dash (49.88). The senior’s times in the 60 meters and 200 meters both qualified for the national championships. Anderson also finished sixth in the long jump with a mark of 21 – 8 ½.

DeJongh, a senior from Visalia, Calif., set a new Fresno Pacific school record in the triple jump at the Azusa Pacific Indoor Qualifier on Feb. 11. DeJongh’s triple jump of 52 feet surpassed the U.S. Olympic Trials B standard qualifying mark, putting him among the top 25 in the nation at any level and No. 1 in the NAIA. He also recorded a long jump of 23 – 11 ¾ to top a field of 27. That figure ranks No. 4 in the NAIA this season.

For a complete listing of all the national event leaders, click here.

The final Athletes of the Week for the 2011-12 season will be announced on Feb. 22.

Track Nominees: Brian Willoughby, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Landon Hamilton, Cumberlands (Ky.); Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist; Renaldo Garrett, Oklahoma Christian; John Harris, Morningside (Iowa); David Parry, McPherson (Kan.); Brian Bragg, Eastern Oregon ; Kennedy Kithuka, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Colton McNinch, Southwestern (Kan.); Phillip Tonui, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Ignacia Franco, Missouri Valley; Gabriel Green, William Penn (Iowa); Greg Montgomery, College of Idaho; Ethan Naylor, Indiana Wesleyan; Marcus Devers, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Randy Sterk, Grace (Ind.); Zach Widner, Siena Heights (Mich.); Matt Clowes, Concordia (Ore.); Rick Avila, Concordia (Calif.); Sean Smith, St. Francis (Ill.); Dustin Heiler, Aquinas (Mich.); Ben McCaleb, Doane (Neb.); Remontay McClain, Azusa Pacific (Calif.).

Field Nominees: Lucas Limberg, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Seth Stoffle, Cumberlands (Ky.); Jeff Lewis, Oklahoma Baptist; Larry Brown, Oklahoma Christian; Max Brown, Ottawa (Kan.); Derrick Toney, McPherson (Kan.); Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon; Austin Basterrechea, College of Idaho; Caleb King, Indiana Wesleyan; Jon DeYoung, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Sam Jones, Goshen (Ind.); Matt Waters, Concordia (Ore.); Logan Norton, Cornerstone (Mich.); Josh Barry, St. Francis (Ill.); Tyler Wells, Grand View (Iowa); Mike Malone, Ashford (Iowa); Nate Teten, Doane (Neb.); Ira Autrey, Bethany (Kan.); Matt Rau, Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Ray Carney, Siena Heights (Mich.).

2012 Composite Award Winners (Track & Field) (Schedule)
Week 1: Edwin Ronoh, Doane (Neb.); Rob Keeney, Doane (Neb.)
Week 2: Monte Larsen, Morningside (Iowa); Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa)
Week 3: B.J. Lawrence, Doane (Neb.); Gabe Wickham, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 4: Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.); Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon
Week 5: Kennedy Kithuka, Wayland Baptist; Gabe Wickham, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 6: Clarence Anderson, Ottawa (Kan.); Ethan DeJongh, Fresno Pacific (Calif.)


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.