Athlete of the Week ? No. 7

Athlete of the Week ? No. 7
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Adam Godwin of Oklahoma Baptist has been named the NAIA National Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week and Herbert Gary of Indiana Tech has been tabbed as the NAIA National Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Godwin and Gary were selected based on their performances from Feb. 13 – 19. Both athletes have earned the award for the first time in their careers.

Godwin, a native of Edmond, Okla., shined at the Nebraska Last Chance Tune-Up at the University of Nebraska on Feb. 17. The sophomore set a new NAIA best this season in the one-mile run with a time of 4:03.92 on the way to a first-place finish amongst a field of 24 competitors. Godwin also finished first in the 1,000-meter run, clocking in at 2:28.05 – the third best mark in the NAIA in 2012.

Gary, an Indianapolis, Ind., native, proved to be the conference’s top high jumper at the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) championships on Feb. 18. The freshman’s high jump of 7 – 0 ¼ placed him first in the field of 10 and gave him the top high jump mark in the NAIA this season. For that effort, Gary earned the Outstanding Performer award at the event and landed himself on the WHAC All-Conference team.

For a complete listing of all the national event leaders, click here.

Track Nominees: Justin Jones, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Matt Fideler, Dakota State (S.D.); Spencer Kamoni, Jamestown (N.D.); Brendan Kelly, Cumberlands (Ky.); David McWilliams, Oklahoma Christian; Nicholas Hestand, Evangel (Mo.); Keith Brown, Iowa Wesleyan; Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.); Edwin Ronoh, Doane (Neb.); Brian Bragg, Eastern Oregon; Adam Yost, St. Francis (Ill.); Joseph Herber, Huntington (Ind.); Andy Lipiec, Indiana Wesleyan; Gabriel Green, William Penn (Iowa); Pj Randles, Campbellsville (Ky.); Ka'imi Scott, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Remontay McClain, Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Rick Avila, Concordia (Calif.); Travis Price, Great Falls (Mont.).

Field Nominees: Jeff Lewis, Oklahoma Baptist; Lucas Limberg, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Cj Davis, Davenport (Mich.); Michael Piatt, Southern Nazarene (Okla.); Emmanuel Panchol, Ashford (Iowa); Joe Dauscha, Cumberlands (Ky.); Brandon Jackson, Oklahoma Christian; Eric Whalen, Concordia (Ore.); Rob Keeney, Doane (Neb.); Jalen Wilson, William Penn (Iowa); Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon; Cody Weber, Hastings (Neb.); James Schortgen, Indiana Wesleyan; Pj Randles, Campbellsville (Ky.); Kiefer Smith, Central Methodist (Mo.); Jacob Connealy, Benedictine (Kan.); Anthony Stockton, William Woods (Mo.).

2012 Composite Award Winners (Track & Field)
Week 1: Edwin Ronoh, Doane (Neb.); Rob Keeney, Doane (Neb.)
Week 2: Monte Larsen, Morningside (Iowa); Raheem Cowan, Briar Cliff (Iowa)
Week 3: B.J. Lawrence, Doane (Neb.); Gabe Wickham, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 4: Matthew Clowes, Concordia (Ore.); Robbie Haynie, Eastern Oregon
Week 5: Kennedy Kithuka, Wayland Baptist; Gabe Wickham, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 6: Clarence Anderson, Ottawa (Kan.); Ethan DeJongh, Fresno Pacific (Calif.)
Week 7: Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist; Herbert Gary, Indiana Tech


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.