2015 NAIA Indoor National Championships - Finals Recap

2015 NAIA Indoor National Championships - Finals Recap
By Zach Shore, NAIA Media Coordinator

GENEVA, Ohio - (Complete results) The Oklahoma Baptist women and the Indiana Tech men successfully defended their team titles at the 2015 Indoor Track and Field Championships at SPIRE Institute on Saturday.

The Indiana Tech men became the fourth school to win at least four straight NAIA Track and Field National Championships, winning consecutive indoor and outdoor team awards dating back to 2013. The Warriors tallied 76 points, edging out Wayland Baptist (Texas) (71) for the second straight year. On the women’s side, Oklahoma Baptist extended its NAIA record to seven indoor national championships with five in the last six years. The Bison scored 87 points, defeating Indiana Tech (79) for the third straight season.

There were three men’s and women’s national championship records set, Tennessee Wesleyan posted their first-event individual national championship and 10 individuals and relay teams were repeat winners from a year ago. The team championship coaches for both teams were named NAIA Coach of the Year: Ford Mastin of Oklahoma Baptist for the women and Doug Edgar of Indiana Tech for the men.

The Oklahoma Baptist women benefited from a pair of big individual point performances from Hannah Fields and Elizabeth Dadzie. Fields, a senior, was named the Women’s Outstanding Performer after claiming individual national titles in the mile, finishing in a national championship record time of 4:37.26, and the 3000 meter run (9:44.53) while helping the Bison win the distance medley relay (11:49.51) and defend their 4x800 meter relay crown. Dadzie was named the Women’s Most Valuable Performer after collecting 32 points during the three-day event. A sophomore for the Bison, Dadzie won the triple jump (12.40m (40-8.25)) and the long jump (5.82m (19-1.25)) while taking second in the 60 meter hurdles (8.47) and helping the team to fifth in the 4x400 meter relay (3:47.85).

Depth was the key for Indiana Tech who captured the team championship with just one individual national champion. Alain Dixon won the long jump on day two, while the Warriors scored eight or more points in four events, including 11 in the 200 meter dash where Tech had athletes finish fourth, fifth and seventh.

The Harry Gill Men’s Outstanding Performer was senior Travis Hinton of Oklahoma Baptist who won both the 600m with an NAIA record time of 1:16.72, just ahead of Indiana Tech junior John Hester who also broke the previous NAIA record with a time of 1:17.14. Hinton was also a member of the Bison’s 4x800m relay national champion.  The Men’s Most Valuable Performer award went to Concordia (Ore.) senior, Matthew Clowes who tallied 30 points for the Cavaliers. Clowes won all three events he participated in, taking the mile in 4:09.60, the 3000 meter run in 8:26.37 and running the anchor leg of the distance medley relay who won in 9:53.75.

Oklahoma Baptist women totaled four individual championships for the fourth time (2005, 2006, 2008) while collecting six national championships overall. Fields, formerly Hannah Helker, also became the seventh women to record six individual national championships and the third Bison to do so. On the men’s side, five teams recorded at least two individual national champions with three teams tallying three total championships.

In other record-breaking performance on Saturday belongs to the Wayland Baptist (Texas) 4x400m relay team of Kabroderan Handsborough, De’Vion Simpson, Kelso Pierre and Durawn Howard who finished the event in 3:09.39.

The official list of the 2015 All-Americans will be announced on Monday, Mar. 10.

For more championships information, click here.

Harry Gill Men's Outstanding Performer (Selected by the Games Committee)
Travis Hinton – Oklahoma Baptist
Women's Outstanding Performer (Selected by Games Committee)
Hannah Fields – Oklahoma Baptist
Men's Most Valuable Performer (based on total points scored in competition)
Matthew Clowes – Concordia (Ore.)
Women's Most Valuable Performer (based on total points scored in competition)
Elizabeth Dadzie – Oklahoma Baptist
Women's Coach of the Year (voted on by coaches)
Ford Mastin – Oklahoma Baptist
Men's Coach of the Year (voted on by coaches)
Doug Edgar – Indiana Tech

Records broken during 2015 NAIA National Championships
•    Nick Christie, Missouri Baptist – Men’s 3,000-Meter Racewalk – 11:59.73 (Friday) ^*
•    Hannah (Helker) Fields, Oklahoma Baptist – Women’s Mile – 4:37.26
•    Travis Hinton, Oklahoma Baptist  - Men’s 600 Meter Dash – 1:16.72
•    Wayland Baptist – Men’s 4x400-Meter Relay – 3:09.39

^ NAIA National Championships record
* SPIRE Institute facility record

Individuals/Relay Teams to repeat as national champions – men’s history
•    Kale Woken, Doane (Neb.) – Heptathlon – 5330 pts.
•    Tori Brooks, Davenport (Mich.) – High Jump – 2.16m
•    Oklahoma Baptist – 4x800-Meter Relay – 7:33.97
•    Clay Shepperson, Oklahoma Baptist - 800 Meter Run – 1:52.07
•    Hans Roelle, Eastern Oregon - 1000 Meter Run – 2:25.62

Individuals/Relay Teams to repeat as national champions – women’s history
•    Molly Josephs, Missouri Baptist – 3,000-Meter Racewalk – 14:19.42
•    Talitha Fagen, Eastern Oregon – Pole Vault – 3.88m
•    Oklahoma Baptist – 4x800-Meter Relay – 9:02.28
•    Elysia (Hodges) Mitchell - 600 Meter Run – 1:31.29

Institutions to record first-ever national championships individual title – men’s history
•    Tennessee Wesleyan – Avery Hubbard, Men’s 60 Meter Dash (6.75)
•    Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) -- Phoenix Miller, Men's 400 Meter Dash (47:20)

Institutions to record first-ever national championships individual title – women’s history
•    Cornerstone (Mich.) – Brittany Murray, Pentathlon (3842)


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.