2017 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 4 (Feb. 8)

2017 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week ? No. 4 (Feb. 8)

By Spencer Scheve, Athletics Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Mason Held of York (Neb.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Indoor Track Athlete of The Week and Curtis Bell of Aquinas (Mich.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Indoor Field Athlete of The Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Held and Bell were selected based on their performances from Jan. 30 – Feb. 5. The fifth Men’s Indoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week will be announced on Feb. 15. 

Men’s Indoor Track Athlete of the Week: 
Mason Held, York (Neb.)
So., West Fork, Ark. 

• Finished first in the 4x800-meter relay, 200-meter dash, 600-meter dash and the 4x400-meter relay on Feb. 3-4 at the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Indoor Championships.
• Held anchored both relays to lead the Panthers in two come-from-behind victories. Held ran a 7:51.16 in the 4x800-meter relay and a 3:21.93 in the 4x400-meter relay.
• Held finished first out of 38 athletes in the 200-meter dash with a time of 22.01 and first out of nine athletes in the 600-meter dash with a time of 1:19.59.

Men’s Indoor Field Athlete of the Week: 
Curtis Bell, Aquinas (Mich.)
Jr., Coleman, Mich. 

• Placed first out of nine athletes in the pole vault at the Grand Rapids Hall of Fame Classic on Feb. 3. 
• Bell posted a personal best by clearing 5.06-m, which also broke the Aquinas school record.
• Bell is currently ranked No. 1 in the NAIA in the pole vault.

For the complete Athlete of the Week calendar, click here

Track Nominees: Luke Bailey, Park (Mo.); Tommy Skosky, Columbia (Mo.); Fabian Munoz, Lindenwood-Belleville (Ill.); Henrique Tsugiyama, William Woods (Mo.); Joshua Anim Anno, St. Louis Pharmacy (Mo.); Josh Parsons, Tennessee Wesleyan; Thomas Morrell III, Eastern Oregon; Matt East, Southern Oregon; Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Taylor Killings, Marian (Ind.); Brennan Crawford, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Andy Herbert, Bethel (Ind.); Noah Stratton, Indiana Wesleyan; Chance Hyatt, Carroll (Mont.); Team n/a, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Isaac Petsch, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Cj Muller, Concordia (Neb.); Sam Wensink, Dordt (Iowa); Tirrell Brooks, Graceland (Iowa); Gainey Rhett, Grand View (Iowa); Joe Linder, Baker (Kan.); Jamal Boma, William Penn (Iowa); Alex Derr, Dakota State (S.D.); Matt Young, Jamestown (N.D.); Lenzel Koskela, Valley City State (N.D.); Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa); Derek Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Seth Reynolds, Indiana East; Brandon Massey, Rio Grande (Ohio); Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.); Tre Hinds, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Jordan Clarke, Webber International (Fla.); Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech; Colin DeYoung, Cornerstone (Mich.); Anthony Vermilye, Siena Heights (Mich.); Juan Echevarria, Lourdes (Ohio) 

Field Nominees: Austin Ray, Columbia (Mo.); Ray Steele, William Woods (Mo.); Logan Shields, Park (Mo.); Juston Lindsley, College of Idaho; Seth Gretz, Oregon Tech; Bryce Vollrath, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Erik Escobedo, Bethel (Ind.); Michael Moffitt, Indiana Wesleyan; Sam Nordquist, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Kurtis Bonner, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Chris Emter, Carroll (Mont.); Reggie Carter, Northwestern (Iowa); Lucas Wiechman, Concordia (Neb.); Alex Wellington, Hastings (Neb.); Isaac Zitterkopf, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Justin Halter, Central Methodist (Mo.); Nick Peterson, Clarke (Iowa); Siefken Clay, Grand View (Iowa); Chris Linnin, McPherson (Kan.); Edmundo Mata, Jamestown (N.D.); Isaiah Craig, Waldorf (Iowa); Tyler Lems, Dakota State (S.D.); Jryi Davis, Point Park (Pa.); Tyler Hoodlebrink, Indiana East; Alex Nichols, Rio Grande (Ohio); Donte Irving, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Alexander Lake, Davenport (Mich.); Evan Pugh, Lourdes (Ohio); Isaiah Lintz, Indiana Tech

2016-17 Men's Indoor T&F Composite Award Winners (Field, Track)

Week 1 (January 18): Seth Sabata, Midland (Neb.) , Colin De Young, Cornerstone (Mich.) 
Week 2 (January 25): Cody Boellstorff, Concordia (Neb.) , Kejavon Moore, Indiana Tech 
Week 3 (February 1): Zach Brittain, Doane (Neb.) , Jackson Thomas, Bacone (Okla.) 
Week 4 (February 8): Curtis Bell, Aquinas (Mich.) , Mason Held, York (Neb.)


Championship Information

NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championship

March 5 - 7, 2020
Brookings, S.D.