2012 NAIA Wrestling All-Americans Announced

2012 NAIA Wrestling All-Americans Announced

By Amanda Dahl, 2012 NAIA Wrestling National Championships Media Coordinator

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 Wrestling All-Americans. Honors were bestowed to the top-eight finishers of each weight class at the 55th Annual NAIA Wrestling National Championships that were held March 1 - 3 at the Jacobson Exhibition Center in Des Moines, Iowa.

Headlining the 80 wrestlers that earned the honor is Evan Hinebauch of Montana State-Northern. The senior capped off his career with his fourth All-America honor by placing third at 184 pounds and closing out with a record of 36-10. Hinebauch twice appeared in the 184-pound title bout, winning it all as a junior and placing second as a freshman. As a sophomore he placed fourth.

Four grapplers became three-time All-Americans, including two-time champion Mitchell Lofstedt of Southern Oregon. Lofstedt pinned his way to the 125-pound title with a 1:06 fall in the championship bout for his 10th fall of an 11-match win streak to cap off his campaign. The junior stuck four of his five opponents in Des Moines in a total of 7:37. For his dominating performance, Lofstedt was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Wrestler with the Gorriaran Award and also took home the Most Falls in the Least Time award. He has appeared in the finals each of the three years he has wrestled at the National Championships.

Also earning their third All-America accolade were Larone Madison of Cumberlands (Ky.) (125), Great Falls’ (Mont.) Myles Mazurkiewicz (141) and Spencer Adams of Campbellsville (197).

First-year programs Indiana Tech and Bethany (Kan.) each took home All-America hardware. Travis Barroquillo placed fourth at 133 and Tanner Martin was sixth at 174 for the Warriors, while Colby Crank to a fourth-place finish at 157 for the Swedes.

There were 14 individuals that earned the distinction of All-American for a second time, while 61 placed among the top eight of their weight class for the first time.

National champion Grand View (Iowa) had nine wrestlers place among the top eight of their weight class, followed by Campbellsville (Ky.) with seven. Southern Oregon placed six and Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) tallied five placewinners. Six teams had four All-Americans and five took home a trio. In all, 25 different programs earned at least one honor.

2012 NAIA Wrestling All-Americans

125 pounds
Name School Year
Mitchell Lofstedt Southern Oregon Jr.
Kory Kistner Morningside (Iowa) Jr.
Larone Madison Cumberlands (Ky.) Sr.
Bryden Lazaro Dickinson State (N.D.) So.
Deteoreious Prayther Missouri Baptist Jr.
Danny Luttrell Great Falls (Mont.) So.
Gabriel Roman Missouri Baptist Jr.
Sean Silva Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) So.
133 pounds
Name School Year
Omi Acosta Grand View (Iowa) Sr.
Keith Klink Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Sr.
Tim Thurston Campbellsville (Ky.) Sr.
Travis Barroquillo Indiana Tech Fr.
Adam Joseph Concordia (Neb.) So.
Nathan Galloway Shorter (Ga.) So.
Angel Garcia Menlo (Calif.) Jr.
Matt Katusin Midland (Neb.) So.
141 pounds
Name School Year
Anthony Varnell Great Falls (Mont.) Sr.
Chris Teague Campbellsville (Ky.) So.
DaMonte Riley Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Jr.
Anthony Weerheim Montana State-Northern Sr.
Gustavo Martinez Grand View (Iowa) Fr.
Myles Mazurkiewicz Great Falls (Mont.) Jr.
Isaac Thomas Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) So.
Jacob Williams Concordia (Neb.) Fr.
149 pounds
Name School Year
Eric Burgey William Penn (Iowa) So.
Jimmy Eggemeyer Southern Oregon Jr.
TJ Moen Grand View (Iowa) Sr.
Anthonie Linares Cumberlands (Ky.) Fr.
Jarell Price Baker (Kan.) Sr.
Shay Shive Missouri Valley Sr.
Bradley Steele Dickinson State (N.D.) Sr.
Carey Cloud William Penn (Iowa) Fr.
157 pounds
Name School Year
Charlie Pingleton Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Sr.
Nik Turner Oklahoma City Sr.
Chad Lowman Grand View (Iowa) So.
Colby Crank Bethany (Kan.) So.
Conor Young Campbellsville (Ky.) Jr.
Jeremy Padilla Waldorf (Iowa) Sr.
Jimmie Schuessler Grand View (Iowa) Fr.
Nick Waldrop Campbellsville (Ky.) Jr.
165 pounds
Name School Year
Kevin Hardy Oklahoma City Sr.
Brad Lower Grand View (Iowa) Sr.
Pat Nord Jamestown (N.D.) Jr.
Brian Lemmon Southern Oregon Sr.
Damon Jackson Missouri Valley Sr.
Ethan Hinebauch Montana State-Northern Fr.
Rashad Moss Waldorf (Iowa) Sr.
Jared Wildeboer Morningside (Iowa) Sr.
174 pounds
Name School Year
Brock Gutches Southern Oregon Fr.
Joseph Stephens Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) So.
Derek Peperas Oklahoma City Sr.
Ty Knowler Grand View (Iowa) Sr.
Jose Alvarez Wayland Baptist (Texas) Fr.
Tanner Martin Indiana Tech Fr.
Joe Sievert Morningside (Iowa) Jr.
Max Payne Montana State-Northern So.
184 pounds
Name School Year
Austin Vanderford Southern Oregon Sr.
Allen Scruggs Campbellsville (Ky.) Jr.
Evan Hinebauch Montana State-Northern Sr.
Brian Block Morningside (Iowa) Jr.
Weston Keleher Missouri Baptist So.
Derrick Rottenberg Southern Oregon Sr.
Robert Shadrach Baker (Kan.) Fr.
Jarid Price Baker (Kan.) Jr.
197 pounds
Name School Year
Joshua March Midland (Neb.) Jr.
Derek Nightser Grand View (Iowa) Jr.
Jamelle Jones Campbellsville (Ky.) Jr.
Kamron Jackson Great Falls (Mont.) Jr.
Nic Leither Northwestern (Iowa) Jr.
Spencer Adams Campbellsville (Ky.) Sr.
Jesse Alter Missouri Valley Sr.
Julian Silva Concordia (Neb.) Sr.
Name School Year
Eric Thompson Grand View (Iowa) So.
Brandon Gebhardt Baker (Kan.) Jr.
Mike Brown Oklahoma City Fr.
Andrew Ewers Shorter (Ga.) So.
Jose Lopez Dickinson State (N.D.) Jr.
Joe Kent Missouri Baptist Sr.
Leviticus Roberson Midland (Neb.) Sr.
Jacob Combs Waldorf (Iowa) Sr.

Championship Information

NAIA Wrestling Championship

March 6-7, 2020
Hartman Arena
Park City, Kan.