NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5

NAIA Men?s Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 5
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications and Sports Information
Photo by Aaron Craig

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Evans Kirwa of Embry-Riddle (Fla.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Kirwa, who is receiving the award for the second time this season, was selected based on his performance from Oct. 1 - 7 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent runner of the week selections.

Kirwa, a native of Eldoret, Kenya, claimed his third individual medal of the season - 15th overall - with a first-place finish at the Florida State Invitational in Tallahassee, Fla., on Oct. 5. The senior harrier set a course record with an 8K time of 24:40, which also ranks as the 13th-fastest time in program history. Kirwa, who averaged 4:58 per mile, finished 26 seconds faster than second-place runner Elias Chesire of NCAA Division I Florida A&M.

Kirwa's previous victories this season came at the University of Southern Florida Bulls Invitational on Sept. 7 and at the Asics Embry-Riddle (Fla.) Classic on Sept. 22.

For complete results for the Florida State Invitational, click here.

For the complete NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week calendar, click here. The next Runner of the Week will be announced on Oct. 17.

For more information on NAIA men's cross country, click here.

Nominees: Zach Widner, Siena Heights (Mich.); Adam Godwin, Oklahoma Baptist; Andy Reidsma, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Nicholas Mizeur, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); David Swiatocha, Texas Wesleyan; Joel Allen, Tabor (Kan.); Matt Pieri, Xavier (La.); Johny Watson, Wiley (Texas); Taylor Chapman, Morningside (Iowa); Aaron Caldwell, Baker (Kan.); David Duque, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Frank Adelman, Southwestern (Kan.); Dylan Grunn, Point Park (Pa.); Alejandro Sanchez, Waldorf (Iowa); Cameron Magro, Davenport (Mich.); Joseph Mullen, Tennessee Wesleyan; Daniel Tubei, Park (Mo.); Tim Boes, Madonna (Mich.); Jeff Cherry, Aquinas (Mich.); Kyler Kathman, Southeastern (Fla.); John Darmody, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Nicolos Jones, Tougaloo (Miss.); Anthony Vecchio, South Carolina Beaufort; Tj Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Cody Risch, Cornerstone (Mich.); Adam Schroeder, Shawnee State (Ohio); Alexander Howell, Warner (Fla.); Ryan Meyer, William Woods (Mo.); Taylor Whitmore, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Hildon Boen, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Ignacio Fernandez, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Ethan Naylor, Indiana Wesleyan; Felix Alfen, Webber International (Fla.); Christopher Orbe, St. Thomas (Fla.); Joash Osoro, William Carey (Miss.); Billy Funk, Goshen (Ind.); Noe Perez, Southwestern Christian (Okla.); Ben Sievert, Concordia (Neb.); Alex Garcia, Reinhardt (Ga.); Izzy Miranda, Lubbock Christian (Texas); Jacob Reeves, Bethel (Tenn.).

2012 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runners of the Week
Week 1 (Sept. 12): Frank Adelman, Southwestern (Kan.)
Week 2 (Sept. 19): Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 3 (Sept. 26): Greg Montgomery, College of Idaho
Week 4 (Oct. 3): John Gilbertson, The Master's (Calif.)
Week 5 (Oct. 10): Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)

Championship Information