NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Will Norris of Northwestern (Iowa) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Norris was selected for his performance from Aug. 27 – Sept. 3 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa)
Sr., Spirit Lake, Iowa

  • Finished third out of 228 runners at the Augustana Twilight meet, which also served as the NCAA D-I, D-II and D-III preview meet.
  • It was the seventh top-ten finish for Norris in his career.
  • Recorded a four mile time of 19:06, the top NAIA in the field.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: William Henry, Park (Mo.); Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Logan Congo, Union (Ky.); Javier Garcia, Tennessee Wesleyan; James Maddox, St. Andrews (N.C.); Garrett Kraal, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Craig Boekenoogen, Corban (Ore.); Billy Godfrey, College of Idaho; Joel O'Shea, St. Francis (Ill.); Jordy Arriaga, Judson (Ill.); Alejandro Montes, Governors State (Ill.); Roger Malonda-Pedros, Calumet (Ind.); Salvador Cordova , Purdue Northwest (Ind.); Abel Hernandez, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Brian Tressler, Hope International (Calif.); Lucas Keifer, Hastings (Neb.); Christopher August, Xavier (La.); Terrence Green, Tougaloo (Miss.); Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); Victor Reveles, Missouri Valley; Christian Graham, Saint Mary (Kan.); Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.); Maxwell Burley, Friends (Kan.); Keaton Schelir, Kansas Wesleyan; Sam Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.); Adam Sandidge, Campbellsville (Ky.); Dustin Wheeler, Georgetown (Ky.); Garang Madut, Cumberland (Tenn.); Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa); Derek Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Laban Kandie, Wiley (Texas); Gilbert Ramirez, Southwest (N.M.); Salvador Campos, Indiana East; Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Cristian Hernandez, Texas Wesleyan; Michal Rogulski, Oklahoma City; Christian Machuca, Bethel (Tenn.); Ken Gassaway, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Nic O'Neill, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Cayce Griffin, Indiana Tech; Colin DeYoung, Cornerstone (Mich.); Lane Trapp, Lourdes (Ohio); Anthony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)

2016-17 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 07): Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa)

Championship Information