NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 6

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 6

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, MO. - Samuel Beal of Cumberlands (Ky.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the National office announced Wednesday. Beal was selected for his performance on Oct. 7 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week                                
Samuel Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.)
Sr., Beavercreek, Ohio

  • Finished fifth out of 365 total runners at the Queens Royals Cross Country Challenge on Oct. 7.
  • Recorded a time of 24:23 on the 8-kilometer course and was the first NAIA runner to cross the finish line.
  • Beal tied a 20 year-old University of the Cumberlands (Ky.) school record for the fastest 8K in program history.
  • Has recorded four top-10 finishes this season.

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Christian Skinner, Park (Mo.); Tyler Alverson, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.); Kaleb Wilson, William Woods (Mo.); Tyler Boone, Bryan (Tenn.); Taylor Tafelsky, Milligan (Tenn.); Jackson Helfrich, Reinhardt (Ga.); Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Alejandro Montes, Governors State (Ill.); Roger Malonda-Pedros, Calumet (Ind.); Cody Velthuizen, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.); Jacob Reinking, Indiana Wesleyan; Daniel Garza, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Gabriel Ocasio, Marian (Ind.); Ben Rankin, Grace (Ind.); Benson Koech, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Tomislav Smith, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Josh Jessop, Montana Western; Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa); Christopher August, Xavier (La.); Christopher Mitchell, Tougaloo (Miss.); Ulysses Orozco, Missouri Valley; Joe Linder, Baker (Kan.); Rhett Gainey, Grand View (Iowa); Jamal Boma, William Penn (Iowa); Elliot Knernschield, Central Methodist (Mo.); Colton Forster, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Tony Weber, Saint Mary (Kan.); Nathan Tripp, Oklahoma Wesleyan; Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.); Adam Sandidge, Campbellsville (Ky.); Aaron Osborne, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Matt Young, Jamestown (N.D.); Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa); Christopher Moreno, Dickinson State (N.D.); Laban Kandie, Wiley (Texas); Dontayveous Allen, Jarvis Christian (Texas); Derek Barnett, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Josh Uzelac, John Brown (Ark.); Alan Ramirez, Texas Wesleyan; Raul Almaraz, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Christian Machuca, Bethel (Tenn.); Anthony Rizzi, Loyola (La.); Jordan McKay, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Leith Rawson, Mobile (Ala.); Alvaro Rivadeneira, Webber International (Fla.); Lucas Runyan, Indiana Tech; Anthony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.); Colin DeYoung, Cornerstone (Mich.); Cameron Bredice, Davenport (Mich.)

2016-17 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners 
Week 1 (September 07): Will Norris, Northwestern (Iowa)
Week 2 (September 14): Matt Hall, Taylor (Ind.)
Week 3 (September 21): John Gay, British Columbia
Week 4 (September 28): Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 5 (October 05): Jackson Thomas, Bacone (Okla.)
Week 6 (October 12): Samuel Beal, Cumberlands (Ky.)

Championship Information