NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

Story by Trevor Lininger, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Brian Blaylock of St. Francis (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the National office announced Wednesday. Blaylock was selected for his performance from Aug. 28 – Sept. 3 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Brian Blaylock, St. Francis (Ill.)
Sr., Lowell, Ind.

  • Finished first out of 113 runners at the Fighting Saints Twilight meet
  • Eighth career top 10 finish
  • Recorded a 5K time of 15:17

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Christian Skinner, Park (Mo.) ; Tyler Alverson, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) ; Tyler Byars, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.) ; John Fairris, Williams Baptist (Ark.) ; Seth Schenck, Columbia (Mo.) ; Schuyler Ogden, William Woods (Mo.) ; Jose Diaz , Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Tim Thacker, Milligan (Tenn.) ; Donquarius Chappell, Point (Ga.) ; Brady Smith, Bryan (Tenn.) ; Caleb DeWeerd, Trinity Christian (Ill.) ; Darian Pacula, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) ; Nolan Ryan, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) ; Peter Smith, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Camren Sewell, Xavier (La.) ; Christopher Mitchell, Tougaloo (Miss.) ; Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.) ; Derek Wilson, Missouri Valley ; Kobie Lane, SUNY-Delhi ; Ian Meek, York (Neb.) ; Manuel Gonzalez, Southwestern (Kan.) ; Joel Barlow, Cumberland (Tenn.) ; Andrew Murley, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Marbeq Edgar, Wiley (Texas) ; Christopher Woodley, Carlow (Pa.) ; Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.) ; Cole Dudley, Indiana East ; Max McNeill, Oklahoma City ; Jarrod Sweetland, Texas Wesleyan ; Geoffrey Kipchumba, William Carey (Miss.) ; Jason Watts, Blue Mountain (Miss.) ; Leith Rawson, Mobile (Ala.) ; Cristian Slaton, USC Beaufort (S.C.) ; Jordan Gonzalez, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Max Groff, SCAD Savannah (Ga.) ; Kaden Loring, St. Thomas (Fla.) ; Lane Trapp, Lourdes (Ohio).

2017-18 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 6): Brian Blaylock, St. Francis (Ill.)

Championship Information