2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 6 (Oct. 11)

2017 NAIA Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week ? No. 6 (Oct. 11)

By Trevor Lininger, NAIA Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Tony Floyd of Madonna (Mich.) has been named the NAIA National Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week for the second week in a row, the national office announced Wednesday. Floyd was selected for his performance from Oct. 2 – Oct. 8 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
So., Westland, Mich.

  • Finished first out of 178 runners at the bethel invite
  • Ran an 8k with a time of 25:18
  • Led Madonna to a fifth place finish

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Nicholas Rotich, Park (Mo.); Sam Wehner, Milligan (Tenn.); Alex Martin, College of Idaho; Alan Guzman, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Caleb DeWeerd, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Cam Knudsen, St. Francis (Ill.); Wesley Meyer, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Matthew King, Calumet (Ind.); Josh Roth, Taylor (Ind.); Steven Cranston, Goshen (Ind.); Jackson Duffey, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Tanner Goetsch, Northwestern (Iowa); Jeriell Jones, Tougaloo (Miss.); Paulino Sanchez, Missouri Valley; Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.); Carlos Guzman, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Sam Baumer, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Tony Weber, Saint Mary (Kan.); Julio Martinez, Bethel (Kan.); Ian Meek, York (Neb.); Jersey Boydstun, Southwestern (Kan.); Bret Crawford, Campbellsville (Ky.); Nicholas Grandperrin , Cumberlands (Ky.); Dennis Gonzalez, Valley City State (N.D.); Nic Ganzeveld, Waldorf (Iowa); Marbeq Edgar, Wiley (Texas); Gilbert Ramirez, Southwest (N.M.); Sean Hilverding, Point Park (Pa.); Kyle Robinson, Brescia (Ky.); Omero Rodriguez, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Walter Ramsey, Loyola (La.); Gabriel Hogan, Ave Maria (Fla.); Jacob Nkamasiai, Keiser (Fla.); Max Groff, SCAD Savannah (Ga.); Cesar Sandoval, Warner (Fla.); Wesley Murphy, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Jordan Gonzalez, Southeastern (Fla.); Sean Trainor, Webber International (Fla.); Arik LaFave, Aquinas (Mich.); Joey DeBoer, Cornerstone (Mich.); Kudzanai Karawira, Indiana Tech

2017-18 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 6): Brian Blaylock, St. Francis (Ill.)
Week 2 (Sept. 13): Mark French, Oregon Tech
Week 3 (Sept. 20): Mark Shaw, Oklahoma City
Week 4 (Sept. 27): Benson Koech, Texas Wesleyan
Week 5 (Oct. 4): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
Week 6 (Oct. 11): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information