2019 NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week — No. 7 (Oct. 16)

2019 NAIA Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week — No. 7 (Oct. 16)

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Cole Olsen of Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) has been named the NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the National office announced Wednesday. Olsen was selected based on his performances from Oct. 7-14 and was chosen out of a pool of conference and Association of Independent Institution winners.

Runner of the Week
Cole Olsen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
JR, Clearwater, Idaho

  • Competed in the Inland Empire Championships
  • Finished fifth of 99 runners in the 8k race with a time of 23:42
  • Set a PR and his time ranks him No. 2 in the program behind current pro, Sam Atkin
  • The only runners in front of him were University if Calgary out of Canada
  • Finished in front of a number of NCAA Division I teams

For more information on NAIA men’s cross country, CLICK HERE

Nominees: Keegan Conway, Central Baptist (Ark.) ; Jackson Helfrich, Reinhardt (Ga.) ; Cody Demalavez, Tennessee Wesleyan ; Justin Roosma, Pacific Union (Calif.) ; Alex Navarro, Eastern Oregon ; Wesley Meyer, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) ; Gabe Esparza, Saint Xavier (Ill.) ; Brantley VanOverloop, Trinity Christian (Ill.) ; Matt Jung, St. Ambrose (Iowa) ; Matthew Plopper, Indiana Northwest (Ind.) ; Haile Stutzman, Huntington (Ind.) ; Justis Paul, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio) ; Stephen Pacheco, The Master's (Calif.) ; Alec Wick, Doane (Neb.) ; Dylan Hendricks, Northwestern (Iowa) ; Tonzell Handy, Tougaloo (Miss.) ; Greg Flores, Baker (Kan.) ; Jacob Blackmon, Mount Mercy (Iowa) ; Samuel Baumer, College of the Ozarks (Mo.) ; Johnathan Bowen, Saint Mary (Kan.) ; Sean Conklin, Bethany (Kan.) ; Sam Kiser, Campbellsville (Ky.) ; Seth Farmer, Shawnee State (Ohio) ; Oscar Ramirez, Thomas More (Ky.) ; Braden Curnow, Dakota State (S.D.) ; Andrew Murley, Waldorf (Iowa) ; Xavier Stephens, Point Park (Pa.) ; Michael Ecker-Randolph, WVU Tech ; Justin Spoon, Asbury (Ky.) ; Chance Klipstine, Indiana East (Ind.) ; Kevin Tamariz, Midway (Ky.) ; Paul Welch, Oklahoma City ; Hayden Ricca, Loyola (La.) ; Nathan Whitton, Mobile (Ala.) ; Ben Langat, Blue Mountain (Miss.) ; Sean Gore, SCAD Savannah (Ga.) ; John Perez-Dunn, Southeastern (Fla.) ; Keontae Turner, Warner (Fla.) ; Gabriel Hogan, Ave Maria (Fla.) ; Justin Dolata, USC Beaufort (S.C.) ; Travis Holton, Webber International (Fla.) ; Liam Heaney, Siena Heights (Mich.) ; Cameron Garcia, Lourdes (Ohio) ; Denver Daniel, Cornerstone (Mich.) ; Jake Willison, Indiana Tech ; Gannon Foley, Aquinas (Mich.)


2019-20 Men's Cross Country Composite Award Winners

Week 1 (September 04): Adrien Gentie, Huntington (Ind.)
Week 2 (September 11): Adrien Gentie, Huntington (Ind.)
Week 3 (September 18): Stephen Pacheco, The Master's (Calif.)
Week 4 (September 25): Oscar Kipkoros, Oklahoma City
Week 5 (October 02): Alex Martin, College of Idaho
Week 6 (October 09): Tony Floyd, Madonna (Mich.)
Week 7 (October 16): Cole Olsen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)


Championship Information