2014 NAIA Softball World Series Bracket Released

2014 NAIA Softball World Series Bracket Released

Story by Chad Waller, Director of Communications and Sports Information

– (Bracket) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the official seeds and bracket for the 2014 Softball World Series. The 10-team event takes place from May 23 – 29 at the South Commons Softball Complex in Columbus, Ga. The facility was home to the 1998 Summer Olympic Games. The Columbus Sports Council serves as the host in the double-elimination event.

There will up to 19 games played during a seven-day span on one championship stadium field. There are four games on each of the first three days (May 25 is off day), three contests on May 27, two games on May 28 and the championship final on May 29. For ticket information, click here.

First pitch of the 34th annual event is scheduled for 10 a.m. EDT on May 23 between No. 7 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) (48-9) and No. 10 College of Idaho (33-16). College of Idaho is snapping the longest drought for any team who previously made a trip – the Coyotes last played in the 2009 event.

The lone newcomer of the World Series is No. 1 seed LSU Alexandria (La.). The Generals bring a 35-3 record into the event and 14-game win streak. LSU Alexandria will face the winner of No. 8 Oklahoma City (52-11) and No. 9 Simpson (Calif.) (39-7) on May 24 at 7 p.m.

Three programs are back after a trip to the 2013 Softball World Series: No. 2 Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) (40-6), No. 5 Reinhardt (Ga.) (44-8) and No. 8 Oklahoma City. Oklahoma City holds the World Series record for most appearances (29), consecutive appearances (23), wins (111) and titles (8). Oklahoma City is the only 2014 World Series qualifier to win a previous championship.

Behind the 29 trips from Oklahoma City, No. 3 Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) (49-3-1) is next with nine appearances. The Tigers will tangle with No. 6 William Carey (Miss.) (47-10) on May 23 at 7:30 p.m.

Eight conferences are represented in the 2014 World Series, led by two programs each from the Sooner Athletic Conference – Oklahoma City and No. 4 St. Gregory’s (Okla.) (51-10) – and the Southern States Athletic Conference – Auburn Montgomery and William Carey.

The qualifiers are comprised of 10 National Championship Opening Round champions, which were completed Wednesday. To see those champions, click here.

NeuLion, the NAIA’s official video-streaming company of 17 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all 18 games of the 2014 NAIA Softball World Series. Single day packages can be purchased for $9.95, while an all-World Series pass is available for $29.95. For more information, including how to test your computer and internet connection, click here.

For more information on the 2014 NAIA Softball World Series, click here.


School Seed World Series Qualification Overall Record^ WS Appearances* WS Record Last WS Appearance WS Titles
Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) 2 Auburn Montgomery Bracket Opening Round Champion 40-6 3 5-4 2013 (3rd-straight) 0
Idaho, College of 10 College of Idaho Bracket Opening Round Champion 33-16 3 3-4 2009 0
Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) 7 Lindsey Wilson Bracket Opening Round Champion 48-9 4 5-4 2012 0
LSU Alexandria (La.) 1 Columbia (Mo.) Bracket Opening Round Champion 35-3 1 0-0 2014 0
Oklahoma City 8 Oklahoma City Bracket Opening Round Champion 52-11 29 111-42 2013 (23rd-straight) 8
Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) 3 Davenport (Mich.) Bracket Opening Round Champion 49-3-1 9 11-15 2012 0
Reinhardt (Ga.) 5 Reinhardt Bracket Opening Round Champion 44-8 4 4-6 2013 (4th-straight) 0
St. Gregory's (Okla.) 4 St. Gregory's Bracket Opening Round Champion 51-10 6 17-12 2012 0
Simpson (Calif.) 9 Concordia (Calif.) Bracket Opening Round Champion 39-7 2 2-1 2011 0
William Carey (Miss.) 6 William Carey Bracket Opening Round Champion 47-10 6 16-9 2012 0
^ DakStats record entered by school
* Includes 2014 World Series
WS = World Series

Championship Information

NAIA Softball Championship


May 11-13, 2020
National Championship Opening 
Round – Campus Sites

May 21-27, 2020
Columbus, Georgia