Davenport Wins Inaugural Women?s Lacrosse Invitational Title

Davenport Wins Inaugural Women?s Lacrosse Invitational Title

By NAIA Invitational Media Staff
Photo by Tere Poplin

Greenville, S.C. – (Box Score | Invitational Schedule) No. 4 Davenport (Mich.) used a four-goal first half run to defeat No. 2 Georgetown (Ky.), 13-9, in the finals of the 2016 Women’s Lacrosse National Invitational Friday morning at Sirrine Stadium.

With the win, Davenport (17-3) claims the first-ever national invitational title.

NAIA Player of the Year Brooke Knoll started the scoring for the Panthers with a goal 30 seconds into the game. Davenport added another goal, before First Team All-American Bea Cameron connected with Amber Hunley and Kaysie Smith on goals to tie the game at 2-2.

Less than a minute later, Hannah Bush netted an unassisted goal to spark a 4-0 run for Davenport, spanning six minutes. The two teams traded goals, twice, to give Davenport an 8-4 lead at the break.

Davenport held a 15-11 advantage in shots and a 13-8 edge in ground balls. Georgetown won eight of the 12 draw controls during the opening 30 minutes.

Bush scored an unassisted goal to start the second half to extend the Panthers lead to 9-4. Georgetown scored four of the next five goals, including two from Avery Blackmon and Merrisa Heraldson to cut the deficit to 10-8 with 13:37 remaining. Davenport scored three of the final four goals for the 13-9 final.

Jessica Lemcke and Bush each netted a team-high four goals, while Knoll finished with her second hat trick of the tournament. Amber Livingston added a pair of goals, while goalie Alex Yates finished with 11 saves in the win.

Blackmon registered a team-high four goals in the loss for Georgetown. Heraldson added a hat trick, while Cameron tallied two assist, four draw controls, four caused turnovers, and three ground balls. Goalie Rachel Kidwell made 11 saves in the cage.

Georgetown finishes as the 2016 Women’s Lacrosse National Invitational runner-up and ends the year with a 14-4 record.

For more information on the NAIA Lacrosse National Invitational, click here.

2016 NAIA Women’s Lacrosse National Invitational Most Valuable Player – Brooke Knoll, Davenport (Mich.)

2016 NAIA Women’s Lacrosse National Invitational – All-Tournament Team
Natalie Dubas, Columbia (S.C.)
Sam Vikstrom, Indiana Tech
Alyssa Shaver, Lawrence Tech (Mich.)
Kadijah Kalo, Lawrence Tech (Mich.)
Shannon Flaherty, SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Torii Clark, SCAD Savannah (Ga.)
Merrisa Heraldson, Georgetown (Ky.)
Avery Blackmon, Georgetown (Ky.)
Bea Cameron, Georgetown (Ky.)
Jessica Lemcke, Davenport (Mich.)
Sydney Gray, Davenport (Mich.)
Hannah Bush, Davenport (Mich.)

Invitational Information

NAIA Lacrosse Championship

 May 6-9, 2019
Savannah, Ga.