Players of the Week - No. 2

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Brooke Martin of LSU Shreveport has been named NAIA National Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Week and Bellevue's (Neb.) Caitlin Stier has been tabbed NAIA National Women's Soccer Defensive Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Martin and Stier were selected based on their performances from Sept. 5 - 11 and were chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Martin became the Lady Pilots' all-time leading scorer with 31 career goals as they defeated NCAA Division III opponents Louisiana College 7-1 on Sept. 5 and LeTourneau (Texas) 5-0 on Sept. 6. The junior forward netted a school-record four goals in each of the victories and assisted on another against Louisiana College. Martin has recorded four goals in a game on three occasions in her career.

A native of San Antonio, Texas, Martin ranks among the nation's top-10 in six statistical categories: second in total goals (9), goals per game (2.3) and points per game (5.0), third in total points (20.0), sixth in game-winning goals (.50) and seventh in total game-winning goals (2).

Stier denied eight shots while playing 110 minutes in goal en route to a 1-0 double-overtime upset of No. 12 Hastings (Neb.) on Sept. 9 to help the Bruins improve to 3-0 on the season. The shutout was the first of her sophomore campaign. Through three games, Stier has made 20 saves and owns a 0.60 goals against average.

The next Players of the Week announcement will be on Sept. 20.

Offensive Nominees: Amy Stigge, Bellevue (Neb.); Danielle Price, Avila (Mo.); Chelsea Ruland, Arizona Christian (Ariz.); Karly Linton, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Dana Hemmingsen, Park (Mo.); Brittney Brooks, Shawnee State (Ohio); Rachel Rathbone, Bethel (Tenn.); Abbye Garcia, Ashford (Iowa); Caryn Welch, Bethel (Kan.); Letesha Cannonier, Davenport (Mich.); Martine Olsen, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Meghan Drost, Oregon Tech ; Christy Lachappelle, Mobile (Ala.); Haley Craig, Holy Cross (Ind.); Kayla Hampton, Daemen (N.Y.); Bre Smith, Asbury (Ky.); Laura Maddock, Carroll (Mont.); Lauren Cantin, Montreat (N.C.); Rebekah Wenger, Lubbock Christian (Texas); Gabriela Valles, Vanguard (Calif.); Jamie Sanchez, Concordia (Neb.); Jacque Cassell, William Jessup (Calif.).

Defensive Nominees: Kayla Mason, Texas Wesleyan; Jacqui Porter, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Melanie Brewer, Park (Mo.); Brittney Gadd, Cumberlands (Ky.); Alex Rist, Saint Mary (Kan.); Jaylene Tye, Bethel (Tenn.); Jerika Castillo, Ashford (Iowa); Kelsey Duley, Aquinas (Mich.); Tiffany Kracy, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.); Lauren Mcinturff, Milligan (Tenn.); Erin Volz, Carroll (Mont.); Tova Torstensson, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Allison Brinson, Lubbock Christian (Texas); Jessica Monarch, Faulkner (Ala.); Sara Hoffman, Judson (Ill.); Nikita Rivera, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Beth Russell, Midland (Neb.); Kristin Perrine, Indiana Wesleyan; Ayana Brumfield, Holy Names (Calif.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Offensive; Defensive)
Week 1: Mor Efraim, Martin Methodist (Tenn.); Caroline Mellard, Montreat (N.C.)
Week 2: Brooke Martin, LSU Shreveport; Caitlin Stier, Bellevue (Neb.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Soccer Championship

Nov. 22-23, 2019 Opening Round – 
Campus Sites

Dec. 2 - Dec. 7, 2019
Orange Beach Sportsplex
Orange Beach, Ala.