Player of the Week ? No. 4

Player of the Week ? No. 4
By Jake Knabel, NAIA Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Diana Favela of Davenport (Mich.) has been named NAIA Women's Tennis Player of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Favela was selected based on her performances from April 2 – 8 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated group player of the week selections. Favela is the first women’s tennis player from Davenport to receive the award since it began in 2011.

The senior native of San Luis Potosi, Mexico, earned a milestone victory by surpassing 100 combined career singles and doubles wins after adding six more to her total over the past week. In No. 1 singles action, Favela dropped only four games as she breezed to three wins over Wolverine Hoosier Athletic Conference opponents. She defeated Amy Fouty of Cornerstone (Mich.), 6-0, 6-0, on April 4, took down Indiana Tech’s Stephanie Perez, 6-1, 6-1, on April 6 and then topped Andrea Arango of Northwestern Ohio, 6-0, 6-2, on April 7.

Favela and teammate Denisse Favela, her twin sister, continued their dominance as a doubles pair. The duo, ranked No. 20 in the NAIA by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association, defeated No. 1 doubles teams from Cornerstone, Indiana Tech and Northwestern Ohio by scores of 8-0, 8-0 and 8-2, respectively.

Favela is now 23-5 in singles action and 23-2 in doubles. She has won 12-consecutive singles matches and only one of her losses this season has come against an NAIA opponent.

The next women’s tennis Player of the Week will be announced on April 18.

Nominees: Alena Gizdić, Cumberland (Tenn.); Jade Patterson, Doane (Neb.); Miranda Gaddis, McPherson (Kan.); Miranda Weaver, Bethel (Kan.); Kristina Marova, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Amy Grossklag, Evangel (Mo.); Hermon Brhane, Oklahoma Christian; Lyn See Choo, Brenau (Ga.); Cassie Quast, Reinhardt (Ga.); Kourtney Howell, Xavier (La.); Maja Vuzem, William Carey (Miss.); Cindy Prieto, Warner (Fla.); Ashlan Allison, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Morgane Zowczak, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.); Ale Gamboa, Robert Morris (Ill.); Lindy Charity, Campbellsville (Ky.); Anna Gaprindashvili, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Rachel Hegel, Judson (Ill.); Princess Clemente, St. Francis (Ill.).

2012 Composite Award Winners
Week 1: Jade Curtis, Auburn Montgomery (Ala.)
Week 2: Ana Kostic, Robert Morris (Ill.)
Week 3: Petra Pesic, William Carey (Miss.)
Week 4: Diana Favela, Davenport (Mich.)


Championship Information

NAIA Women's Tennis Championship

May 12-16, 2020
Mobile Tennis Center
Mobile, Ala.