Final Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week

Final Outdoor Track & Field Athletes of the Week

Contact: Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Sports Information & Media Services,

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Tamala Daley of Shorter (Ga.) has been tabbed as the NAIA Women’s Outdoor Field Athlete of the Week and teammate Ashlie Stewartson was named the Women’s Outdoor Track Athlete of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Daley and Stewartson were selected based on their performances from April 25 – 31.  The pair is the final honorees of the 2011 season.

Daley, a sophomore from Stone Mountain, Ga.,
won the long and triple jumps at the Mid-South Conference (MSC) Championships on April 30. The two wins earned Daley all-conference honors. In the long jump, she posted a distance of 19-09 ¾ to win by a one-foot margin over teammate and second-place finisher Stewartson. Daley won the triple jump by more than four feet with a mark of 39-06 ½.


Stewartson, a junior from Newnan, Ga., earned four wins at the MSC Championships. She captured the 200 meter and 400 meter dashes and helped the 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams to first-place finishes. For her efforts at the event, she was named co-MSC Women's Track & Field Athlete of the Year. Stewartson ran the 200 in 24.74 seconds and the 400 in 56.83 to collect all-conference honors. She was the second leg in the 4x100 as the team produced a time of 47.17 and ran the anchor leg in the 4x400 with a time of 3:50.78.


Stewartson and Daley helped the Hawks to their third-straight MSC Championship title.

Track Nominees: Lyndsay Payne, Siena Heights (Mich.); Verone  Chambers, Oklahoma Baptist; Jessica Stuart, Sterling (Kan.); Lauren Kachel, Cumberlands (Ky.); Danielle Brenon, Houghton (N.Y.); LaShunna Jimmerson, Langston (Okla.); Devin Freeman, Baker (Kan.); Rachel Luehrs, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Madison Qualkenbush, Indiana-East; Obsie Birru, Grand View (Iowa); Paige DeLapp, Northwest (Wash.); Alma Garcilazo, Eastern Oregon; Henrietta Carey, Taylor (Ind.); Kristie Adams, Friends (Kan.); Stephanie Lucas, Illinois Tech; Tina Marie Soto, Dickinson State (N.D.); Kylie Covey, Ottawa (Kan.); Amy Pierson, Southwestern (Kan.); Amy VanHal, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Amanda Johnson, Indiana Wesleyan; Mariah Toussaint, Midland (Neb.); Katelyn Lewis, Indiana Tech; Alyssia Lindsay, Bryan (Tenn.); Kim Peek, Judson (Ill.); Brittany Arch, Northwest Christian (Ore.); Kristine Smith, College of Idaho; Tara Krempley, Southern Oregon; Courtney Dickson, Black Hills State (S.D.); Jillian Ourada, Doane (Neb.); Lauren Versweyveld, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Catherine Sims, Concordia (Ore.); Jocelynn Smith, Corban (Ore.); Leah Wensmann, Sioux Falls (S.D.); Rachael Steil, Aquinas (Mich.); Nathelie Zetrenne, Campbellsville (Ky.).

Field Nominees: Morgan Choszczyk, Siena Heights (Mich.); Lawna Meade, Cumberlands (Ky.); Alexa Thayer, Houghton (N.Y.); Jessica Weston, Culver-Stockton (Mo.); Jessica Brown, Langston (Okla.); Stephanie Nelson, Baker (Kan.); Vanessa Legg, Indiana-East; Jenna Higgins, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Devon Jensen, Grand View (Iowa); Rachel Butler, William Penn (Iowa); Anne Barnett, Eastern Oregon; Carlene Johnson, Taylor (Ind.); Jennifer Hartman, Dickinson State (N.D.); Maggie Hasenkamp, Ottawa (Kan.); Kirsten Harms, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Katelin Morgan, Indiana Wesleyan; Jean Marqueling, Saint Francis (Ind.); Cora Tatum, Indiana Tech; Sarah Dede, Judson (Ill.); Jenna Koch, Bethany (Kan.); Hanna Johnsen, Minot State (N.D.); Ale Cano, Doane (Neb.); Gabriella Dixson, Concordia (Ore.); Caitlin McPherson, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Lindsay Reinhardt, Sioux Falls (S.D.); Denise Mattoon, Oklahoma Christian; Alicia Dorko, Aquinas (Mich.); Tiana Benjamin, Campbellsville (Ky.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Track; Field)
Week 1: Brittany Sims, Eastern Oregon; Tori Anderson, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)

Week 2: Sarah Laine, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.); Anne Barnett, Eastern Oregon

Week 3: Stephanie Kenney, Taylor (Ind.); Henrietta Carey, Taylor (Ind.)

Week 4: Obsie Birru, Grand View (Iowa); Gabriella Dixson, Concordia (Ore.)

Week 5: Nikita Tracey, Oklahoma Baptist; Gabriella Dixson, Concordia (Ore.)

Week 6: Verone Chambers, Oklahoma Baptist; Lori Gale, Malone (Ohio)
Week 7: Jessica Rivera, Texas Wesleyan; Tisha Beasley, Campbellsville (Ky.)

Week 8: Ashlie Stewartson, Shorter (Ga.); Tamala Daley, Shorter (Ga.)

Championship Information

NAIA Outdoor Track & Field Championship

May 20-22, 2020 
Mickey Miller Blackwell Stadium
Gulf Shores, Ala.