Texas at Brownsville's Arlene Ferreira Named Final NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week

Texas at Brownsville's Arlene Ferreira Named Final NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week
Nov. 10, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Arlene Ferreira of Texas at Brownsville has been named the NAIA Volleyball National Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Ferreira was selected based on her performances from Nov. 2 - 8. She was chosen out of a pool of conference player of the week selections among 23 conferences.

Ferreira, a 5-8 sophomore outside hitter, combined for 31 kills in two matches played last week to help the ninth-ranked Scorpions finish Red River Athletic Conference play at 16-0. She posted 15 kills against Texas Wesleyan and followed up with a 16-kill performance against Southwestern Assemblies of God (Texas).

In 53 attempts, Ferreira committed only three errors for a .491 hitting percentage. Not only did she dominate play at the net, Ferreira led her team in digs in both matches with 16 and 18, respectively. She also contributed five blocks, assisting on three and having two solo, recorded three aces and dished out a pair of assists.

The Uberlandia, Brazil, native ranks 25th nationally in kills per game with 3.83 and is 31st in hitting percentage, posting a .348 clip.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

Nominees: Tamy Leipelt, Oklahoma Baptist; Amber Smith, Bryan (Tenn.); Erin Bradley, Belhaven (Miss.); Stacy Rogg, Ohio Dominican; Alicia Terhaar, Cornerstone (Mich.); Kelsay Mccausland, Ashford (Iowa); Skye Wade, William Woods (Mo.); Ellen Fandry, Lindenwood (Mo.); Carly Yattaw, Trinity International (Ill.); Jamie Vander Kooi, Morningside (Iowa); Kasi Runion, Shorter (Ga.); Mandi Phillips, Tabor (Kan.); Jackie Albrecht, Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Kerri Romaniszyn, Webber International (Fla.); Keke Wang, Fresno Pacific (Calif.); Brianna Strete, IU East (Ind.); Megan Korhonen, Maine-Presque Isle; Dana Christiansen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Samantha Revering, Jamestown (N.D.); Whitney Smith, Rio Grande (Ohio); Kelsey Pritchard, Taylor (Ind.); Rachel Muller, Bellevue (Neb.); Katie Pendley, Menlo (Calif.).


2009 Composite Award Winners (Schedule):
Week 1: Tabitha Henken, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
Week 2: Tamy Leipelt, Oklahoma Baptist
Week 3: Erica Janszen, Georgetown (Ky.)
Week 4: Martina Gregusova, Fresno Pacific (Calif.)
Week 5: Jamie Vander Kooi, Morningside (Iowa)
Week 6: Fei Shi, California Baptist
Week 7: Xiaoting Ma, Oklahoma City
Week 8: Kelsey Pritchard, Taylor (Ind.)
Week 9: Maria Omondi, Columbia (Mo.)
Week 10: Arlene Ferreira, Texas at Brownsville

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship


Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round  Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa