2011 All-Americans Announced

2011 All-Americans Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2011 Tachikara-NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams, as selected by the NAIA Volleyball All-America Selection Committee.

Concordia (Calif.) junior outside hitter Brooke Marino has been named the 2011 NAIA Player of the Year. She joins Raquel Ferreira, the 2004 Player of the Year recipient, as the second Eagle in program history to win the award.

Marino powered the Concordia to a runner-up finish at the 2011 National Championship and a 37-2 overall record. The 5-11 native of Mission Viejo, Calif., served as the key cog for a squad that won 36-straight matches before falling to Texas at Brownsville, 25-20, 20-25, 25-19, 25-20, in the title match. Marino finished eighth in the NAIA with 69 service aces, 11th with 523 total kills and 15th with 3.99 kills per set.

Concordia’s Dan Fisher was named 2011 NAIA Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to their third national title appearance in school history in just his first year at the helm of the program. He also guided Concordia to its first Golden State Athletic Conference regular-season championship with a perfect 18-0 league mark. The Eagles’ three No. 1 rankings this season were the first three in program history.

Fisher is the first coach from Concordia to receive Coach of the Year honors since Paula Weishoff was selected in 2008. Fisher and Marino are the first player-coach duo from the same school to sweep national honors since 2007 when Fresno Pacific’s (Calif.) Dennis Janzen was named Coach of the Year and Shu Liu represented the Sunbirds as Player of the Year.

National champion Texas at Brownsville landed sophomore middle hitter Ana Guerra on the Tachikara-NAIA First Team All-America list, while sophomore outside hitter Danika Markovic, the Tachikara Tournament Most Valuable Player, garnered second-team honors. The Scorpions’ Paula Barros and Amber Brooks were honorable mention selections.

FIRST TEAM        
Amy Alkazin# Azusa Pacific (Calif.) MH Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.
Kathleen Anderson Fresno Pacific (Calif.) MH So. Lemoore, Calif.
Whitney Brigham College of Idaho L Sr. Caldwell, Idaho
Yiting Cao# Spring Hill (Ala.) OPP Sr. Shanghai, China
Paula Ferreira* Columbia (Mo.) S Jr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Martina Gregusova* Fresno Pacific (Calif.) OH Sr. Nitra, Slovakia
Ana Guerra^ Texas at Brownsville MH So. Sao Paulo, Brazil
Abby Hall^ Embry-Riddle (Fla.) OH Sr. Louisville, Ky.
Ashley Hamilton# Indiana Tech OH Sr. Middlebury, Ind.
Tabitha Henken* Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.) OH Sr. Carlsbad, Calif.
Devon Jensen# Grand View (Iowa) OH Jr. Underwood, Iowa
Brooke Marino# Concordia (Calif.) OPP Jr. Mission Viejo, Calif.
Kelsey Pritchard^ Taylor (Ind.) OH Sr. Indianapolis, Ind.
Vesna Trivunovic* Columbia (Mo.) OH Sr. Zrenjanin, Serbia
Sara Brunner Rocky Mountain (Mont.) OH Sr. Redcliff, A.B., Canada
Christine Douglas# Biola (Calif.) OH Jr. Cypress, Calif.
Alyssa Dwyer Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.) MH So. Gilbert, Ariz.
Fei Gao Concordia (Calif.) OH Jr. Qindao, China
Jamie Heenan Vanguard (Calif.) OH Sr. Costa Mesa, Calif.
Lauryn Herrick Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) OH Sr. Cypress, Calif.
Sarah Holgen# Southern Oregon OH Sr. Honolulu, Hawaii
Yui Iwase Indiana Wesleyan S Jr. Plano, Texas
Kaley Lyons Evangel (Mo.) MH Jr. Springfield, Mo.
Danica Markovic* Texas at Brownsville OH So. Subotica, Serbia
Kristin Pressley Oklahoma Baptist OH So. Mansfield, Texas
Magda Santos Wiley (Texas) OPP Jr. Cuiaba, Brazil
Maureen Wardian Bellevue (Neb.) MH Sr. Omaha, Neb.
Amy Weststeyn Biola (Calif.) MH Fr. Visalia, Calif.
THIRD TEAM        
Karie Altman Madonna (Mich.) MH Sr. Taylor, Mich.
Kristin Barott Rocky Mountain (Mont.) S Sr. West Richland, Wash.
Casey Chernin Missouri Baptist OPP Sr. St. Louis, Mo.
Jessica Cooper Shorter (Ga.) MH Sr. Grant, Ala.
Fernanda Ferreira Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) OH Jr. Minas Gerais, Brazil
Melanie Forman Indiana Tech S Sr. Hastings, Mich.
Tina Frick Tabor (Kan.) MH Sr. Durham, Kan.
Jessica Lea Eastern Oregon S/OH Sr. Prineville, Ore.
Kelsey Masuda Indiana Wesleyan L Sr. Tokoyo, Japan
Kaylee Miller Graceland (Iowa) OH Jr. Blue Springs, Mo.
Whittany Radcliffe Azusa Pacific (Calif.) OPP Sr. Whittier, Calif.
Susan Rollman^ Doane (Neb.) MH Jr. Humphrey, Neb.
Adriana Vazquez Embry-Riddle (Fla.) S Jr. Orlando, Fla.
Thaise Vieira Bethel (Tenn.) MH Sr. Matozinhos, Brazil

* 2010 First-Team All-American
^ 2010 Second-Team All-American
# 2010 Third-Team All-American

Samantha Arriaran La Sierra (Calif.)
Paula Barros Texas at Brownsville
Megan Bartling Southern Oregon
Sarah Becker Jamestown (N.D.)
Hayley Blair College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Jordan Blaken Viterbo (Wis.)
Amy Braaksma Viterbo (Wis.)
Jordan Broady Bellevue (Neb.)
Amber Brooks Texas at Brownsville
Betsy Brown# Taylor (Ind.)
Shannon Cahill Campbellsville (Ky.)
Tori Callihan The Master's (Calif.)
Darcy Christensen Morningside (Iowa)
Lauren Crump^ Indiana East
Taylor DeGraaf Cal State San Marcos
Meagan EnYart Northwestern Ohio
Arlene Ferreira* Lee (Tenn.)
DeeAnn Garvin Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)
Jordan Goings Lubbock Christian (Texas)
Aleah Hayes Columbia (Mo.)
Megan Hayes MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Kory Hiebert McPherson (Kan.)
Torrey Hulsey College of Idaho
Christa Hutchinson Lee (Tenn.)
Megan Hutson Northwestern (Iowa)
Monica Iverson Morningside (Iowa)
Linjun Ji MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)
Melissa Joyce Robert Morris (Ill.)
Leah Keller Kansas Wesleyan
KaUwila Lavea Vanguard (Calif.)
Mariah Mock College of the Ozarks (Mo.)
Ingrid Mosquera Wiley (Texas)
Kayla Mullaney St. Xavier (Ill.)
Taryn Nash Spring Hill (Ala.)
Kylee Nawahine College of Idaho
Lindsey Oberacker Point Park (Pa.)
Irene Ojukwu Lee (Tenn.)
Chelsea Phillips Aquinas (Mich.)
Kaylee Piatt Southern Nazarene (Okla.)
Robin Portela Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Sydney Rice Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Kali Schnacker Bellevue (Neb.)
Katelyn Schuller Dordt (Iowa)
Brianna Strete Indiana East
Luren Stuckel Missouri Baptist
Brittney Thomas Mount Mercy (Iowa)
Peyton Thompson Indiana Wesleyan
Kelli Tikker Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)
Kelsey Vanuden Great Falls (Mont.)
Briana Walsh Evangel (Mo.)
Cami Weimer Oklahoma Baptist
Marija Zelenovic Lee (Tenn.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship


Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round  Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa