NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week ? No. 5

NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week ? No. 5
By Travis Rae, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Kristine Egebrecht of Indiana Wesleyan has been named NAIA Volleyball National Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Egebrecht was selected based on her performance from Sept. 24 - 30 and was chosen out of a pool of conference player of the week selections among 23 conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Egebrecht, a 6-0 junior middle hitter from West Chicago, Ill., led the Wildcats to a 5-0 record this past week, including wins over No. 18 Indiana East and No. 22 Cornerstone. In the victory over Indiana East, on Sept. 26, Egebrecht recorded 15 kills, five block assists and three solo blocks. In the Indiana Wesleyan - Indiana Tech Crossover Tournament on Sept. 28 - 29, Egebrecht recorded a career-high 23 kills and a .512 hitting percentage against Aquinas (Mich.). Egebrecht continued to pile up the kills as she collected 22 against Olivet Nazarene (Ill.). In 21 sets this week , Egebrecht recorded 83 kills, 13 digs, 11 block assists, eight solo blocks and three aces and a .333 hitting percentage.

Egebrecht ranks third in the nation with a .417 hitting percentage. She leads the Wildcats and ranks 31st nationally in kills with 269.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

The next Player of the Week announcement will be on Oct. 9. For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Krystal Troyer, Indiana South Bend; Taylor Reuther, Xavier (La.); Denise Atualevao, Graceland (Iowa); Katie Vogts, Tabor (Kan.); Rebekah Moore, Georgetown (Ky.); Katie Rosenbusch, Texas Wesleyan; Sarah Becker, Jamestown (N.D.); Erin Bradley, Belhaven (Miss.); Pollyanna Vitel, Bethel (Tenn.); Kelsey Fitzpatrick, Indiana Tech; Taylor Martin, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Brittney Thomas, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Alexis Aalona, Westminster (Utah); Kendra Schwein, Hastings (Neb.); Emily Becker, William Woods (Mo.); Livia Caluori, Point Park (Pa.); Brandi Blessing, Virginia Intermont; Shahala Hawkins, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Sam Dougherty, The Master's (Calif.); Courtney Calicdan, Menlo (Calif.); Caitlyn Rueth, Bellevue (Neb.).

2012 Composite Award Winners
Week 1
(Sept. 4): Patricia Souza, Park (Mo.)
Week 2 (Sept. 11): Kendra Schwein, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 18): Jordan Holcomb, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 4 (Sept. 25): Paula Ferreira, Columbia (Mo.)
Week 5 (Oct. 2): Kristine Egebrecht, Indiana Wesleyan

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship


Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round  Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa