NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week ? No. 8

NAIA Volleyball Player of the Week ? No. 8
By Travis Rae, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Amy Weststeyn of Biola (Calif.) has been named NAIA Volleyball National Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Weststeyn was selected based on her performance from Oct. 15-21 and was chosen out of a pool of conference player of the week selections among 23 conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Weststeyn, a 6-3 sophomore middle blocker from Visalia, Calif., led the Eagles to a 2-0 record this past week. In a 3-0 (25-17, 27-25, 25-23) victory over NCAA Division II Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), Weststeyn was nearly perfect, as she recorded 14 kills on 18 swings with no errors. She also added five digs and a season-high three aces. Weststeyn led Biola to a sweep over No. 8 The Master's (Calif.) four days later. She collected 10 more kills, six blocks, including two solo, and a pair of digs. In two games, Weststeyn recorded 24 kills on 39 attacks - hitting percentage of .590 - eight blocks, seven digs and four aces.

Weststeyn leads the nation in hitting percentage (.455) and ranks eighth in the Golden State Athletic Conference in kills per set with 3.10.
For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.
The next Player of the Week announcement will be on Oct. 30. For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Molly Brewster, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Megan Haber, Spring Hill (Ala.); Amber Getty, Davenport (Mich.); Kristen DiPaola, Dakota State (S.D.); Sarah Becker, Jamestown (N.D.); Aubrey Hoover, McPherson (Kan.); Christine Ruckman, Our Lady of the Lake (Texas); Zyra Wright, Philander Smith (Ark.); Ashley Wheeler, Midland (Neb.); Danielle Tombolato, Ashford (Iowa); Katie Flock, Viterbo (Wis.); Paula Ferreira, Columbia (Mo.); Sashalee Wallen, Bethel (Tenn.); Catie Hanser, Carroll (Mont.); Andrea Taylor, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Jordan Holcomb, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Alyssa Downs, Asbury (Ky.); Carolyn Evans, Bryan (Tenn.); Erynn Schuh, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Aubrey Husak, Bethel (Ind.); Devan Belshe, Warner Pacific (Ore.); Courtney Calicdan, Menlo (Calif.); Jordan Broady, Bellevue (Neb.).

2012 Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 4): Patricia Souza, Park (Mo.)
Week 2 (Sept. 11): Kendra Schwein, Hastings (Neb.)
Week 3 (Sept. 18): Jordan Holcomb, Embry-Riddle (Fla.)
Week 4 (Sept. 25): Paula Ferreira, Columbia (Mo.)
Week 5 (Oct. 2): Kristine Egebrecht, Indiana Wesleyan
Week 6 (Oct. 9): Eva Prieditis, Madonna (Mich.)
Week 7 (Oct. 16): Ally Krus, Missouri Baptist
Week 8 (Oct. 23): Amy Weststeyn, Biola (Calif.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Volleyball Championship

Nov. 23, 2019 Opening Round – 
Campus Sites

Dec.3 - 7, 2019
Tyson Events Center
Sioux City, Iowa