Runners of the Week - No. 6

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Evans Kirwa of Embry-Riddle (Fla.) has been named NAIA National Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week and Lindsey Wilson's (Ky.) Sharon Ronoh has been tabbed NAIA National Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Kirwa and Ronoh were selected based on their performances from Oct. 10 - 16. They were chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated group runners of the week selections.

Kirwa won his fourth meet title in five races, clocking a 24:15.10 8K at the University of Central Florida Black and Gold Challenge on Oct. 14. The junior from Eldoret, Kenya, finished nearly a minute ahead of the second-place finisher from NCAA Division I Florida A&M. He helped lead the No. 23 Eagles to a fourth-place team finish with 85 points in a 12-team field. This is the third national weekly honor for Kirwa.

Ronoh ran a course-record 5K time of 18:04.22 to win top honors at the NCAA Division III Wilmington College (Ohio) Fall Classic on Oct. 14. The individual title was the junior's fourth straight of the season as she finished 29 seconds ahead of the runner-up in a field of 241 runners. Ronoh, a native of Timboroa, Kenya, helped lead the Blue Raiders to a 12th-place finish with 397 points in the team standings.

The next Runners of the Week announcement will be on Oct. 26.

Men's Nominees: Mitchell Dale, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Philiph Tonui, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Jimmy Oribo, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); David Weeks, Siena Heights (Mich.); Silas Kisorio, Oklahoma Christian; Andrew Herrera, Texas Wesleyan; Seth Bridges, Northwest (Wash.); Frank Adelman, Southwestern (Kan.); Austin Houchens, Berea (Ky.); Austin Epting, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Jim Vonnahme, Grand View (Iowa); Warren Lannon, York (Neb.); Daniel Sorenson, Shorter (Ga.); Hilary Cheruiyot, Tennessee Wesleyan; Joseph Herber, Huntington (Ind.); Edwin Ronoh, Doane (Neb.); Nick Wilson, Rio Grande (Ohio).

Women's Nominees: Lyndsay Payne, Siena Heights (Mich.); Melyssa Cardenas, Oklahoma Christian; Jessica Davis, Texas Wesleyan; Jena Schwalenberg, Concordia (Neb.); Gina Paletta, Concordia (Ore.); Brielle Lund, Tabor (Kan.); Latifa Swims, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Jasmine Pulliam, Brescia (Ky.); Bea Foley, Viterbo (Wis.); Rhianna Grossman, Carroll (Mont.); Ellie Staker, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Maggie Opelt, Lee (Tenn.); Sarah Birgen, Tennessee Wesleyan; Erin Rockey, Huntington (Ind.); Rachael Dean, Saint Xavier (Ill.); Breanna Newton, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Men’s; Women’s)
Week 1: Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Lauren Jimison, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Week 2: John Gilbertson, The Master's (Calif.); Gina Paletta, Concordia (Ore.)
Week 3: Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Danielle Brenon, Houghton (N.Y.)
Week 4: Silas Kisorio, Oklahoma Christian; Ally Manley, Northwest Christian (Ore.)
Week 5: Matt Ditzler, Friends (Kan.); Lauren Jimison, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Week 6: Evans Kirwa, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Sharon Ronoh, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington