2013 NAIA Women?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

2013 NAIA Women?s Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 1

By: Sam Knehans, Communications & Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. Ayded Reyes of Cal State San Marcos has been named the NAIA Women's Cross Country National Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednesday. Reyes was chosen for her performance during the week of Sept. 9 – 15 and was selected out of a pool of conference and independent award winners.

Reyes, a senior San Diego, Calif., native, won the UC Riverside (Calif.) Invitational as the Cougars outpaced the 20-team field, capturing the open division title. Reyes covered the 5-kilometer course in 17:55. The senior standout, an undocumented immigrant who hopes to one day represent the United States in the Olympics, was recently featured in Runner’s World magazine.

For the complete player of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Lindsey Martin, Columbia (Mo.); Laurel Gagnon, Park (Mo.); Susana Marquez, Point (Ga.); Cassie St. John, Milligan (Tenn.); Hannah Barnes , Truett-McConnell (Ga.); Brooke Alexander, Montreat (N.C.); Hannah Weisner, William Jessup (Calif.); Aspen Abbott, Southern Oregon; Hilary Halford, St. Francis (Ill.); Meaghan Ciochon, Judson (Ill.); Katelyn McCullough, Grace (Ind.); Hannah Schroder, Taylor (Ind.); Sarah McBeath, Indiana Wesleyan; Jessica Raymond, Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Katie Smelker, Mount Marty (S.D.); Kim Wood, Concordia (Neb.); Catherine Fakler, Xavier (La.); Lauren Jaqua, Baker (Kan.); Amanda Buhr, Missouri Valley; Maria Bernard, British Columbia; Aspen Frey, McPherson (Kan.); Madison Caffrey, Sterling (Kan.); Sarah Pollmann, St. Louis Pharmacy (Mo.); Hana Jiraskova, Point Park (Pa.); Kearstin McDainel, Indiana East; Meliah Carrel, Midway (Ky.); Tayler Godar, Georgetown (Ky.); Keaton Gaffney, Cumberland (Tenn.); Talisa Budder, Haskell (Kan.); Becca Wilder, St. Ambrose (Iowa); Meredith Jones, Viterbo (Wis.); Liz Mosbach, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Kelsey Carbajo, Grand View (Iowa); Aleona Reyes, Jamestown (N.D.); Jessica Davis, Texas Wesleyan; Sarah Jerotich, Wayland Baptist (Texas); Tori Mullinax, Brenau (Ga.); Katie Dolan, Spring Hill (Ala.); Allison Denetchee, William Carey (Miss.); Makenzie Rials, Belhaven (Miss.); Sierra Zemanick, Southern Wesleyan (S.C.); Ellie Staker, Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Melissa Carder, USC Beaufort (S.C.); Lauren Nygren, Webber International (Fla.); Carlos Colina, St. Thomas (Fla.); Lauren Dunleavy, Ave Maria (Fla.); Monica Rekkedal, St. Thomas (Fla.); Becca Lamb, Indiana Tech; Julie Oosterhouse, Cornerstone (Mich.); Elaine Johnson, Siena Heights (Mich.); Bianca Kubicki, Madonna (Mich.); Kelsee VanderBaan, Davenport (Mich.).

2013 Women's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (September 18): Ayded Reyes, Cal State San Marcos

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington