2017 NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 3 (Sept. 20)

2017 NAIA Women's Cross Country Runner of the Week - No. 3 (Sept. 20)

By Trevor Lininger, Athletic Communications and Media Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. - Ellie Willging of Saint Xavier (Ill.) has been named the NAIA National Women’s Cross Country Runner of the Week, the national office announced Wednseday. Willging was selected for her performance from Sept. 11 – 17 and was selected out of a pool of conference/association of independent institutions award winners.

NAIA Women’s Cross Country Runner of the Week
Ellie Willging, Saint Xavier (Ill.)
Sr., Freeport, Ill.

  • Ran a 5K time of 17:34
  • Finished fourth out of 205 runners at the National Catholic Invitational
  • Finished as the top non-NCAA Division I runner at the Invitational

For the complete runner of the week calendar, click here.

Nominees: Pia Von Veutz, Columbia (Mo.); Rebecca Starrett, Missouri Baptist; Kimi Putnam, William Woods (Mo.); Shelby Kallem, Hannibal-LaGrange (Mo.); Emily Kearney, SCAD Atlanta (Ga.); Alyssa Waibel, Columbia (S.C.); Ingrid Escobedo, Marymount (Calif.); Keili Dorn, Embry-Riddle (Ariz.); Rachel Roelle, Eastern Oregon; Molly Vitale-Sullivan, College of Idaho; Grace Dwyer, Calumet (Ind.); Megan DeWeerd, Trinity Christian (Ill.); Jasmine Harper, Spring Arbor (Mich.); Taylor Bluemel , Taylor (Ind.); Janie Reid, Carroll (Mont.); Ariel Jensen, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Heidi Hennings, Hastings (Neb.); Madison Lambley, Doane (Neb.); Taylor Price, Xavier (La.); Chesha Lewis, Tougaloo (Miss.); Lizeth Luciano, Missouri Valley; McKenna Johnson, Mount Mercy (Iowa); Guadalupe Gonzalez, William Penn (Iowa); Michelle Thayer, Grand View (Iowa); Arielle Moheimani, SUNY-Delhi; Christa Follette, Friends (Kan.); Lorena Moreno, Saint Mary (Kan.); Justine Vogele, Southwestern (Kan.); Lucy Berlanga, Georgetown (Ky.); Brooke Smith, Shawnee State (Ohio); Claudia Tepox, Cumberland (Tenn.); Evelyn Moore, Cumberlands (Ky.); Miranda Rzendzian, Campbellsville (Ky.); Taryn Thor, IU Kokomo; Amanda Espy, Carlow (Pa.); Ashley Toschlog, Indiana East; Lydia Mato, Oklahoma City; Maria Galarza, Texas Wesleyan; Sarah Larson, John Brown (Ark.); Martha Chunn, Blue Mountain (Miss.); Sasha Solano-McDaniel, Loyola (La.); Theresa Lasal, Middle Georgia State; Noor Sabeeh, Dalton State (Ga.); Jaden Russell, William Carey (Miss.); Sandra Villajos, Indiana Tech

2017-18 Women's Cross Country Composite Award Winners
Week 1 (Sept. 6): Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)
Week 2 (Sept. 13): Anna Shields, Point Park (Pa.)
Week 3 (Sept. 20): Ellie Willging, Saint Xavier (Ill.)

Championship Information

NAIA Women's Cross Country Championship

November 22, 2019 
Vancouver, Washington