Player of the Week ? No. 8

Player of the Week ? No. 8
By Alan Grosbach, Manager of Communications & Sports Information

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Schera Sampson of Shawnee State (Ohio) has been named the NAIA National Division I Women’s Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Sampson was selected based on her performances from Feb. 13 – 19 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Sampson averaged a near double-double with 21.0 points and 9.5 rebounds as the Bears finished the week 2-0 with victories over then-No. 23 Lindsey Wilson and then-No. 5 Cumberlands (Ky.). The junior forward began the week with her first double-double of the season with 19 points and 11 rebounds as Shawnee State downed Lindsey Wilson, 92-63, on Feb. 16. Sampson followed that performance with a career-high 23 points on 8-of-10 shooting in the Bear’s 71-68 upset victory against Cumberlands on Feb. 18.

A native of Round Rock, Texas, Sampson ranks second on the team in rebounds (6.6 boards per game) and fourth in scoring (11.7 points per game).

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

The final Player of the Week announcement will be on Feb. 28.

Nominees: Lavanda Ross, Union (Tenn.); Kimberly Jones, Langston (Okla.); Denita Phelps, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Ebony Richardson, Talladega (Ala.); Victoria Murillo, Avila (Mo.); Amber Williams, Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Regena Jackson, Belhaven (Miss.); Brianna Beridon, Park (Mo.); Dana Bates, Westminster (Utah); Kelsey Canavan, Lubbock Christian (Texas).

2011 Composite Award Winners (Schedule)
Week 1: Amber Williams, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Week 2: Keiva Council, Loyola (La.)
Week 3: Natalie Shumpert, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)
Week 4: Amber Williams, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)
Week 5: Regena Jackson, Belhaven (Miss.)
Week 6: Nyla Bailey, Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.)
Week 7: Regena Jackson, Belhaven (Miss.)
Week 8: Schera Sampson, Shawnee State (Ohio)

Championship Information

NAIA DI Women's Basketball Championship

March 18-24, 2020
Billings, Mont.