Player of the Week - No. 3

Player of the Week - No. 3
KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Kayla Drake of Saint Francis (Ind.) has been named the NAIA National Division II Women’s Basketball Player of the Week, the national office announced Tuesday. Drake was selected based on her performances from Jan. 9 – 15 and was chosen out of a pool of conference/independent/unaffiliated groupings.

Drake led the Cougars to two wins over ranked opponents last week as she poured in 42 combined points. She filled up the stat sheet in Saint Francis’ 81-66 victory over then-No. 23 Marian (Ind.) on Jan. 11, striking for 23 points, seven rebounds, four assists and two steals. She proceeded to drop 19 points in the Cougars’ 62-56 triumph over then-No. 16 Grace (Ind.) on Jan. 14. She also added seven rebounds, three assists and six steals in the win. On the week, Drake shot 11-for-26 (.423) from the field, 5-for-10 (.500) from deep and 15-for-21 (.714) from the free throw line. She has now tallied at least 20 points in five games this season.

The 5-foot-3 junior guard from Kokomo, Ind., is averaging 19.0 points, 4.9 rebounds and 3.5 steals per game while shooting 37.7 percent from beyond the arc in 10 contests this season. She has powered Saint Francis to a 13-7 overall record and 5-2 Mid-Central College Conference mark.

For a complete listing of all the national statistical leaders, click here.

The next Player of the Week announcement will be on Jan. 24.

Nominees: Michelle Davis, Tennessee Wesleyan; Ellie Allen, Daemen (N.Y.); Sarah Beth Hock, Arizona Christian; Kristen Conahan, Concordia (Neb.); Katy Pillar, Dakota State (S.D.); Anna Jones, Iowa Wesleyan; Hailey Longtin, Mayville State (N.D.); Ashley Holmstrom, Mayville State (N.D.); Megan Groen, Mayville State (N.D.); Hannah Sabol, Concordia (Mich.); Kellie Schuneman, Jamestown (N.D.); Brett Bates, Southwestern (Kan.); Morgan Smith, College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Sandy Jenkins, Ave Maria (Fla.); Lindsey Steffen, Holy Cross (Ind.); Ariel Nickell, Alice Lloyd (Ky.); Aundrea Albright, Oregon Tech; Alexsis Brown, Cal Maritime.

2011 Composite Award Winners (Schedule)
Week 1: Lindsey Waters, Union (Ky.)
Week 2: Kendra De Jong, Northwestern (Iowa)
Week 3: Kayla Drake, Saint Francis (Ind.)

Championship Information

NAIA DII Women's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Tyson Events Center 
Sioux City, Iowa