NAIA Division II Women's Basketball All-America Teams

NAIA Division II Women's Basketball All-America Teams
By Travis Rae, Communications and Sports Information Intern

SIOUX CITY, Iowa - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the 2012 - 13 Division II Women's Basketball All-America teams. Kendra De Jong of Northwestern (Iowa) was named the NAIA National Player of the Year. The All-America Teams are selected by the NAIA All-America committee.

De Jong, a 6-foot forward from Hospers, Iowa, ranked second in the NAIA in total rebounds (369) and fifth in rebounds per game (10.8). The Great Plains Athletic Conference Player of the Year shot 52.5 percent from the field and shooting 77.8 percent from the charity strip. De Jong averaged 17.6 points and 10.8 rebounds per game. She collected 17 double-doubles on the season; four coming in the National Championship. De Jong averaged 17.3 points and11.5 rebounds per game in the National Championship to earn All-Tournament First Team.

Of the 10 players selected on the first team, seven earned All-America honors in some capacity last year.

Indiana Wesleyan's Steve Brooks was recognized as the Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year on Tuesday night following the Wildcats 61-43 national championship victory over Davenport (Mich.). Brooks guided Indiana Wesleyan to its second national championship title. The Wildcats concluded the season with a 35-3 record and a 16-2 Crossroads League mark. Brooks guided the Wildcats to a 20-0 start this season, including seven weeks as the No. 1 ranked team.

Player of the Year: Kendra De Jong, Northwestern (Iowa)

Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year: Steve Brooks, Indiana Wesleyan

First Team        
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Kendra De Jong*! Northwestern (Iowa) F Sr. Hospers, Iowa
Laura Johnson# Bethel (Ind.) G Sr. Millbrook, Ill.
Paige Smith$ Indiana Wesleyan F Sr. Fisher, Ind.
Morgan Stuut Saint Xavier (Ill.) F So. Marcellus, Mich.
Casey Davis Roosevelt (Ill.) G Jr. Country Club Hills, Ill.
Kristen Conahan# Concordia (Neb.) G Jr. Omaha, Neb.
Chelsie Trask! Morningside (Iowa) G Sr. Rockford, Iowa
Morgan Smith! College of the Ozarks (Mo.) C Sr. Nixa, Mo.
Abbey Hengesbach Concordia (Mich.) G So. Westphila, Mich.
Karli Harris$ Davenport (Mich.) G Sr. Fishers, Ind.
Second Team        
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Lindsey Waters# Union (Ky.) C Sr. Stearns, Ky.
Marcisa McMillan Mayville State (N.D.) C Jr. Seattle, Wash.
Chelsey Christensen Warner Pacific (Ore.) G Sr. West Linn. Ore.
Felicity Jones$ College of Idaho G Sr. Tremonton, Utah
Juaneice Jackson Grace (Ind.) G Jr. Gary, Ind.
Kayla Drake Saint Francis (Ind.) G Jr. Kokomo, Ind.
Katie Gonnering St. Francis (Ill.) F So. Seymour, Wis.
Kim Johnson Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) F Jr. Sioux Falls, S.D.
Morgan Hamner Grand View (Iowa) F Sr. Des Moines, Iowa
Chelsea Davis Michigan-Dearborn F Jr. Canton, Mich.
Third Team        
Name Institution Pos. Class Hometown
Hannah Steele Jamestown (N.D.) G Jr. Circle Pines, Minn.
Jolise Limcaco Menlo (Calif.) G So. Sacramento, Calif.
Brooke Randall Eastern Oregon G Sr. Wenatchee, Wash.
Kelsey Evans Briar Cliff (Iowa) G Sr. Willmar, Minn.
Janelle Rust Tabor (Kan.) F Jr. Elbing, Kan.
Ariel Nickell# Alice Lloyd (Ky.) F Jr. Tazewell, Tenn.
Megan Jones Oklahoma Wesleyan G Jr. Stroud, Okla.
Samantha Saladino St. Ambrose (Iowa) F Sr. Davenport, Iowa
Constina Cousins St. Thomas (Fla.) F Sr. Englewood, N.J.
Robyn Veltkamp Cornerstone (Mich.) G Sr. Hudsonville, Mich.
Honorable Mention        
Name Institution      
Erin Guarneir$ Taylor (Ind.)      
Alex Starr Purdue Calumet (Ind.)      
Maria Tamburrino Roosevelt (Ill.)      
April Winne Mount Marty (S.D.)      
Katie Rich Concordia (Neb.)      
Kara Van Dyke Dordt (Iowa)      
Ashlynn Muhl Morningside (Iowa)      
Alecia Smith Kansas Wesleyan      
Nikki Lewis Taborr (Kan.)      
Abril Marshall Friends (Kan.)      
Heather Wheat Indiana Southeast      
Trenia Barbee Asbury (Ky.)      
Karyn Bixler@ College of Saint Mary (Neb.)      
BreeAnn Hageman Waldorf (Iowa)      
Amanda Frost Mount Mercy (Iowa)      
Orielle Thomas$ William Penn (Iowa)      
Emily Huber$ Ave Maria (Fla.)      
Nadia Givens$ Southeastern (Fla.)      
Kaylee McGarth Madonna (Mich.)      
Hannah Sabol$ Concordia (Mich.)      
Tiesha Stokes Davenport (Mich.)      
Johneshia Good Milligan (Tenn.)      
Melissa Sweat Southern Oregon      
Kelsea Hurliman Eastern Oregon      
Claire Ray Indiana Wesleyan      
Michelle Piepenburg Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)      

* denotes NAIA Player of the Year
! denotes 1st team selection in 2012
# denotes 2nd team selection in 2012
@ denotes 3rd team selection in 2012
$ denotes honorable mention selection in 2012

Championship Information

NAIA DII Women's Basketball Championship

March 11-17, 2020
Tyson Events Center 
Sioux City, Iowa